Duties of a DAD 

Good Morning my friends, 

Last night as I was trying to go to sleep I couldn’t help but think about my boys and how much that I love them. I looked back and remembered when Keri was pregnant with them, how I would read to them at night. Keri would be laying on the bed and I would read whatever book I was reading at the time as if they were laying there with us. I read books like “The Book of Virtues” by Willam J Bennett, Oliver North’s “Under Fire”, Norman J Swarzkoff’s “It Doesn’t take a Hero” & Jimmy Johnson’s “Turning the Thing Around”.   There were so many more. I made sure to talk to them every day and tell him how much I loved them and what all we were going to do once they were born. I wanted them to know my voice once they were born. To say that I was proud the day they were both born is understatement. My love for my boys runs so deep with in my heart that it goes beyond what any word I could ever describe. It began way before Keri & I got married and has continued to grow stronger with each passing day. How could I love something that wasn’t living? Let me explain. The love for my boys began on June 15th 1988.. That was the day my nephew Chris was born and the first time that I held him. At that moment I knew that some day I would have boys. Although Chris was’n’t mine, he does have part of my blood running through his veins because of my sister. It didn’t know if Chris’ biological father wasn’t in the picture and if he was I knew it wasn’t going to be long. I assumed the role & the duties of dad because I wanted him to be able to experience what it meant to have a dad.. I fed him, changed his diapers, played with him. We did everything together we possibly could. I took him to the mall, we went to McDonald’s. I bought him his first bike and taught him how to ride it. I played catch with him. I attended almost EVERY baseball game that he ever played in from T-ball thru high school. I have always treated him as if he was my son and still do to this day.  

“The Lord appeared to us in the past, saying: “I have loved you with an everlasting love; I have drawn you with unfailing kindness.” (Jeremiah 31:3)

One of the things that I’ve always tried to do is teach my boys that in life, we often get caught up in the extra-curriculars thins in like both the good & bad. We let the joys & thrill of the moment gather up our attention. When we allow things like that to happen, we lose focus of the fact that our eternal future is at stake. I tell them often that the choices that they make now here on earth will have way more of an impact & consequences in eternity than they will ever have while they’re here on earth.. Our eternal future is forever. Our Father loves us way more than we deserve and could ever imagine. God spells it out for us in John 3:16, “For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.” My friends the Bible says WHOSOEVER.. That means EVERYONE… When I think about the love I have for my boys, it fails in comparison to the love our Father has for his children. I can’t imagine letting one of my boys die for me let alone someone else.  

God loves you with an everlasting Love, which flows from the depths of eternity. Before you were born, He knew you. Think about the awesome mystery of a Love that encompasses you from before birth to beyond the grave. His love was a lot different than my love for my boys. Modern man lost the perspective of eternity. He has allowed the joys & frills of society to distract himself from the gaping jaws of death, he has turned to the world to find the joy & peace that he’s missing. When you try to be still in His Presence it’s like a lost art, yet it’s the very stillness that enables you to experience His eternal Love. You need the certainty of His loving Presence in order to weather the storms of life. During the times of severe testing, even the best theology can fail. The ultimate protection against sinking during life’s storms is devoting time to develop your friendship with Jesus.

Because of the Lord ’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness. I say to myself, “The Lord is my portion; therefore I will wait for him.” The Lord is good to those whose hope is in him, to the one who seeks him; it is good to wait quietly for the salvation of the Lord .” (Lamentations 3:22-26)

MY CHALLENGE PRAYER for YOU…. Don’t let the joy & frills of the world steal your eternal future. 

I hope you have a WONDERFUL day…. Blessings & much love……D

ALWAYS…..Live YOUR life like it’s your LAST24!!!

#last24 #wpbc #eternalmission #itslife

TO RECEIVE THIS DEVOTIONAL AUTOMATICALLY VIA EMAIL 

If you would like to receive my daily devotional via email copy & paste this link in your web browser: https://last24ministries.wordpress.com

In the bottom right hand corner click Follow and enter your email address.. You should immediately receive a confirmation email where you have to confirm that you meant to sign up.

Leave a Reply

