Mr Fix it

Good Morning my friends,

Most of you are aware that Keri worked for me for 7 years prior to my resignation . A lot of evenings she use come to me and want to talk about her day, her frustrations and things that happened. You’re probably wondering why she would do this considering we’re in the same building. Truth be known, although I see her several times a day it’s only briefly when I come out of my office. Most of the time I stay busy in my office.. I did this because I’ve learned that employees don’t like to be micro-managed or watched over every move they make. I personally feel that’s one of the most common mistakes a manager can ever make with employees. In fact, I have found that the majority of employees thrive when they are trusted with responsibility and made to feel that they have a voice in the direction of a business.  

“Martha, Martha,” the Lord answered, “you are worried and upset about many things, but few things are needed—or indeed only one. Mary has chosen what is better, and it will not be taken away from her.” (Luke 10:41-42)

Employees want to take ownership. Employees that take ownership played a huge factor in the success of my store. When I first became store manager, I tried to do everything myself. I lived by the motto,” If I want something done right, then I will do it myself.” I quickly became wore out from doing this but I also the added stress in my life. I was constantly in fix-it mode.. Often when Keri would start to tell me about her day I would immediately start planning how I was going to fix her frustrations. This despite her not wanting me to fix anything. She was just needing to be heard.. Being Mr. Fix-it is one of man’s biggest problems but yet it is one of the easiest to fix. How Ironic is that? Here we are trying to fix everyone else’s problems but we refuse to fix one of our easiest. That seems to be a common theme in this country? We try to police the world but yet we run amuck right here.. We try to feed the world, yet we having people starving right here. We try to house the world yet we have homeless people right here. We try to fund the world, yet we have people living in poverty right here. These are problems we should’ve already fixed. God will bless ALL the people that are in need when the time is right in His eyes, not ours. Perhaps people struggle in this country because they have yet to turn to God to be their answer for their problems. Perhaps they failed to give Him praise. Problems are a few part of life, they’re inescapable, they are woven into the very fabric of this fallen world.

“I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will counsel you with my loving eye on you.” (Psalm 32:8)

You tend to go into problem-solving mode all too readily, acting as if you have the capacity to fix everything. This is a habitual response, so automatic that it bypasses you conscious thinking. Not only does this habit frustrate you, it also distances you from Jesus. Do not let fixing things be your top priority. You are ever so limited in your capacity to correct all that is wrong in the world around you. Don’t weight yourself down with responsibilities that are not your own. Instead, make your relationship with Jesus your primary concern. Talk with Him about the things that are on your mind, seeking His perspective on the situation. Rather than trying to fix everything that comes to your attention, ask Him to show you what is truly important. Remember that you are en route to heaven, so let your problems fade in the Light of eternity. 

“But our citizenship is in heaven. And we eagerly await a Savior from there, the Lord Jesus Christ, who, by the power that enables him to bring everything under his control, will transform our lowly bodies so that they will be like his glorious body.”  (Philippians 3:20-21)

MY CHALLENGE PRAYER for YOU. Don’t be a Mr. Fix-it!! Allow God to fulfill His role..

I hope you have a WONDERFUL day…. Blessings & much love……D

ALWAYS…..Live YOUR life like it’s your LAST24!!!

#last24 #wpbc #eternalmission #itslife

TO RECEIVE THIS DEVOTIONAL AUTOMATICALLY VIA EMAIL 

If you would like to receive my daily devotional via email copy & paste this link in your web browser: https://last24ministries.wordpress.com

In the bottom right hand corner click Follow and enter your email address.. You should immediately receive a confirmation email where you have to confirm that you meant to sign up.

Leave a Reply

