Seeking Admiration & Praise

Good Morning my friends

I think one of things that we all try to do is make our parents proud. When I was kid playing peewee football @ RYA, although I really loved playing football one of the reasons I loved playing was the praise I would receive from my mom & dad… To see their faces light up because of my play allowed me to puff my chest out. Most of the games I would also receive praises from other parents from our team, those that were just watching us play and also from the opposing coaches and parents. You can bet that puffed up my chest even further. Garnering praise from others is dangerous, especially when it becomes your focal point…

“Trust in him at all times, you people; pour out your hearts to him, for God is our refuge.” (Psalm 62:8)

I love sharing my testimony with you all but I’ve told Keri on many occasions, if the likes & the comments ever become my focal point then I’m going to stop. I share my trials & tribulations with the hope of leading people to the cross of salvation and nothing more. I grown to dislike telling when I’m headed to Houston, having a CT scan or receiving chemo, I say not because I’m ungrateful for all the prayers but because to me it focuses on me and the message I’m trying to convey is a lot bigger than little ole me. There have been days in my past when I first started this devotional/blogging journey when I said to myself man I deserve a pat on the back from God for that post. Then I reminded myself quickly that I don’t DESERVE anything because Jesus paid the price not me.. My reminder are the tattoo on my forearm. That’s the reason I got those tattoos.. A reminder that its about more than Dino… Jesus paid the price for me and He did it for you despite ourselves. He had prior knowledge that you and I would lose focus on Him & from time to time would glamour for praise. But His Love is greater than those sins. I don’t let my failures & disappointments discourage me.. He knows I’m going to fail Him. That’s the beauty of His Love but don’t take it for granted.  

“For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith—and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God— not by works, so that no one can boast.” (Ephesians 2:8-9)

Jesus is pleased with His child. Allow yourself to become fully aware of His pleasures shining upon you. You don’t have to perform well in order to receive His Love. A relationship based on performance focus will pull you away from Him. It will take you towards some sort of Pharisaism. This can also be a subtle form of idolatry because you’re worshiping your own good works. It can also be a source of deep discouragement when your works don’t measure up to your expectations. Shift your focus from your performance to Jesus’ Radiant Presence. The Light of His Love shines on you continually, regardless of your feelings or behavior. Your responsibility is to be receptive to this unconditional Agape Love. Thankfulness and trust are your primary receptors. Thank Him for everything; trust in Him at all times. These simple disciplines will keep you open to His Loving Presence.  

“I pray that out of his glorious riches he may strengthen you with power through his Spirit in your inner being, so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith. And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, may have power, together with all the Lord’s holy people, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, and to know this love that surpasses knowledge—that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God.” (Ephesians 3:16-19)

MY CHALLENGE PRAYER for YOU…   Don’t let the accolades be your focus…

I hope you have a TREMENDOUS day…. Blessings & much love……D

ALWAYS…..Live YOUR life like it’s your LAST24!!!

#last24 #wpbc #eternalmission #itslife

TO RECEIVE THIS DEVOTIONAL AUTOMATICALLY VIA EMAIL 

If you would like to receive my daily devotional via email copy & paste this link in your web browser: https://last24ministries.wordpress.com

In the bottom right hand corner click Follow and enter your email address.. You should immediately receive a confirmation email where you have to confirm that you meant to sign up.

Leave a Reply

