Always in Control

Good Morning my friends

We just love to be in control… Back in 2009, Keri, the boys & I went to South Fork, Colorado on vacation with some friends. For those that have never been to South Fork let me tell you it’s majestic… Having two teenage boys, one of the things that we knew we were gonna do no matter what was go white water rafting.. One of the places that offered it was in Durango. We made the 2 hr drive to Durango. We decided since we were inexperienced rafters that we would take the tour that was mostly class 2 with some 3 & 4’s.. After being fitted with life jackets and being issued paddles we waited what seemed like forever to load up and go. We finally all loaded up on the bus to go to our entry point. They gathered us all around & explained to the many different groups the rules & guidelines on the river. Then they assigned each group to a tour guide.. Our tour guide wasTom. Tom gave us a special signal (we were to pat the top of our head) if we needed help in the unlikelihood of the raft turning over or if fell out from the rough rapids.. We chose our places in the raft and he told us he would be telling us when to paddle and if we just needed one side to paddle to help with direction he would tell us which side. We entered the river and started paddling. We gained speed and he told us to stop paddling.. For the next 3 hrs we floated down what was the equivalent to the “Lazy River” @ Six Flags.. Don’t get me wrong there were a couple of places that were flowing “ok” but nothing that would get your blood flowing with excitement. The boys were continually asking if they could paddle so we could go faster. Tom would eventually tell them when we could paddle and when we when we got to going fast Tom would then guide us into a rock so we would get stuck. In all honesty, I’m not certain why we even had to wear a life jacket. The water was never over knee deep.. Seriously….had the raft turned over all we would’ve had to do to save ourselves was to sit up. We didn’t even need a guide.. Tom did narrate the trip but we didn’t want a historical tour we wanted excitement.. I’ve learned that my walk with Jesus is a lot like my trip white water rafting. I tend to want to be in control of my own raft. I want to paddle when I’m suppose to be floating and vice versa. I didn’t know where the pick up point was. I didn’t know the river and what lies ahead.. I have to remember that I have the ultimate tour guide if I will let Him guide me, He will get me to my ultimate destination. 

“In your unfailing love you will lead the people you have redeemed. In your strength you will guide them to your holy dwelling.” (Exodus 15:13)

Leave the outcomes up to Jesus!! Follow Him wherever He leads you without worrying about how it will all turn out. Think of your life as an adventure, with Jesus as your Guide and Companion. Live in the now, concentrating on staying in step with Him. When your paths lead to a cliff, be willing to climb it with His help. When we come to a resting place, take time to refresh in His Presence. Enjoy the rhythm of life when you live close to Him. You already know your ultimate destination of your journey. You’re working towards your entrance into heaven. So keep your focus on the path before you, leaving outcomes up to Him.  

“I remain confident of this: I will see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living. Wait for the Lord ; be strong and take heart and wait for the Lord.” (Psalm 27:13-14)

MY CHALLENGE PRAYER for YOU… Let Jesus be your tour guide..

I hope you have a MAGNIFICENT day…. Blessings & much love……D

ALWAYS…..Live YOUR life like it’s your LAST24!!!

#last24 #wpbc #eternalmission #itslife

TO RECEIVE THIS DEVOTIONAL AUTOMATICALLY VIA EMAIL 

If you would like to receive my daily devotional via email copy & paste this link in your web browser: https://last24ministries.wordpress.com

In the bottom right hand corner click Follow and enter your email address.. You should immediately receive a confirmation email where you have to confirm that you meant to sign up.

Leave a Reply

