The Dread of Waking Up

Good Morning my friends, 

“Look to the Lord and his strength; seek his face always.”  (Psalm 105:4)

     Do you ever dread waking up simply because its a certain day? I use to dread waking up on Sunday because I knew Monday was just around the corner.. I must say though my dread for Sunday was nothing compared to my loathing for Monday.. Monday’s were just bad. They started bad!! They started somewhere between 2:45-3:15 am when most people should’ve been sleeping and then when you combine that with the fact that its first day of a five day work week it really use to put me in a bad frame of mind. I use to jokingly say my week consist of four Monday’s & and my favorite day Friday.   

     My days are different now. I no longer loath Monday’s. Of course that could be because I no longer work but let’s not dilute my happiness with facts. I know longer let the circumstances that I face daily intimidate me. I know that Jesus places His Power at my disposal so the more challenging my day is the more power He gives me. I’m not empowered equally every day. I no longer look at the difficulties that I face ahead of me because Jesus knows what day will contain, and He will give me the strength accordingly. He strengthens me each day based on two things: the difficulty of my circumstances, and my willingness to depend on Him for help. I view my challenging days as opportunities to receive more of His Power than usual. I look Him for all that I need, and watch to see what He will do. 

“The bolts of your gates will be iron and bronze, and your strength will equal your days.” (Psalm 105:4)

     Jesus knows when I need an extra pat on the back or a loving embrace. He knows that I am going to walk confident in Him. After Keri & I had gone thru our troubles in the Summer 2011, I realized that ALL the flirting I was did was dishonoring to her so I told her I would no longer do it. I did most of my flower purchasing via instant message because its convenient and it allowed me to multi-task but that was also my avenue for ALL the flirting. I must admit it was a daily struggle at first and from time to time I would catch myself about to flirt. I would say to myself, “it’s just me in here she will never know…” The Holy Spirit would gently tap me on the shoulder and say, “BUT I WILL!!” I would then say a quick prayer and ask God to give me the strength that I needed to defeat these temptations. It wasn’t too much longer that God delivered me from that evil marriage destroying temptation.

     Sunday a day that I use to loathe is now a day that I love the most. Sunday is the day I’m surrounded by not just my family but my church family as well. The joy of being around like minded people. None of us are perfect. We are all sinners but we strive everyday to live like Christ. I think I have THE ABSOLUTE BEST CHURCH FAMILY a guy could ever have. It starts we our Shepard, then the church staff, and then on down to the congregation. We are united as one. Everyone is loving, caring, supportive, nonjudgmental & genuine.  

“I pray that the eyes of your heart may be enlightened in order that you may know the hope to which he has called you, the riches of his glorious inheritance in his holy people, and his incomparably great power for us who believe. That power is the same as the mighty strength he exerted when he raised Christ from the dead and seated him at his right hand in the heavenly realms.”  (Ephesians 1:18-20)

MY CHALLENGE for YOU…… Look towards Jesus to give you the strength for today.

I hope you have a WONDERFUL day…. Blessings & much love……D

ALWAYS…..Live YOUR life like it’s your LAST 24!!!

#last24 #wpbc #eternalmission #itslife

TO RECEIVE THIS DEVOTIONAL AUTOMATICALLY VIA EMAIL 

If you would like to receive my daily devotional via email copy & paste this link in your web browser: https://last24ministries.wordpress.com

In the bottom right hand corner click Follow and enter your email address.. You should immediately receive a confirmation email where you have to confirm that you meant to sign up.

Leave a Reply

