God Is With You

Good Morning my friends,

Back In June 08, my oldest son Zakk & I went learned what it was like to volunteer, work, and go on a mission trip. We drove from Texas all the up to Casper, Wyoming along with other members of our church and other churches around the nation. To say the experience was rewarding would be an understatement. The organization that hosted the trip was a group called World Changers. We worked on houses & churches replacing windows, doors & roofs, repainted the outside out the house, a few minor repairs & clean up.  

I guess you could say that my week started off with a bang. Monday morning our crew of 10-12 kids & 2 adults arrived at our work site and met the home owner, unloaded our tools, got set-up, and developed a plan for the week. The home owner was a single mother of 3. Our duties were to replace ALL the windows in her home with new energy efficient vinyl. Remove and replace all rotting around the windows. My little team and I went to the right side of the house and got start

Suddenly I hear a loud crash and I jumped down off the ladder and made my way to the front of the house only to discover someone had rear-ended my Expedition that was parked legally across the street. I look up the street and see a young man getting out of his smashed truck and made my way to him to make sure he was ok. He got out of his truck and assured me he was fine. He began telling me that he saw all the kids that were working on the house and looked over to see what they were doing and must have swerved over a little to far. He hit the back driver side corner of my Expedition smashing, the bumper, deck lid, quarter panel, & taillight but luckily no glass. I told him I wasn’t concerned with the car because it can be replaced but the main thing was that he was ok. While waiting on the police to arrive; I took the opportunity to share The Gospel with him. He told me that he hasn’t been to church in years and had even stopped reading the Bible because he got busy with life. I told him that perhaps this was God’s Way of saying it’s time to come back to Me.  

The police finally arrived and told me when they finished writing up their report they would come get me so I went back to work.. The policeman came and got me about 25 minutes later and just as we got to the front of the house we hear another crash. Someone had just hit the driver side mirror of my Expedition. I looked up the street and saw the gentlemen had pulled over and was getting out of his car. I walked up to to meet him and was very apologetic. He told me the same story. He looked over saw all the kids and moved over a little to far. He told me that he was on his way to pick up his son because his truck broke down. He pointed to the truck which belonged to the young man that hit me the first time.. I informed him that his truck was a little more than broke down because he had ran into the back of my car and I didn’t think it was drive-able. The police finished the second report and I signed it told both guys that I would be praying for them, gave them my cell # and told them if I could help them I would love to.

It’s Friday but SUNDAY’S COMING!!!

I moved my car after that and went back to work.. After lunch, I received a phone call from my dad. He called to tell me that he had gone to the doctor that morning and his report showed that he had lung cancer. The news hit me like a ton bricks. I felt helpless. Here I was over 1000 miles away from home and there was nothing I could do. I barely made it through the remainder of the day and the only per I told was my crew leader whom was from my church. We made it back to the school where we were our sleeping quarters were and I started searching for Zakk. We walked outside and with tears pouring I told him the news. We embraced and cried together. He told me that he wanted to leave and go back home to be with dad and in all honesty I did too.. The emotions that we’re racing through my mind & heart were beyond a description. I told Zakk to go pack and I called Keri to tell her we were packing our things and headed home. I no more than hung up and my dad called me. He told me to stay because there was nothing we could do when we got back. He said we were in the best place not only for us but for him as well. He said we were surrounded by 100’s of God loving people that would give us the support we needed to make it through the week and that God was with us and He would supply our strength. I told him ok even though I didn’t like it. I found Zakk and told him we were staying. By this time everyone from our church had heard about the two crashes and were coming up to me and talking about it. The crashes seemed insignificant after receiving the phone call from my dad. I told some men & women from our church about the news regarding my dad and it quickly circulated around to ALL 750 or so people that had traveled there from all over the US.. I skipped dinner and chapel that evening trying to get some alone time to gather my thoughts but God knew that the last thing I needed was to be alone. He surrounded me with several friends from church and we talked and cried together.. Well mostly cried. After chapel we ALL gathered together as a church and prayed for my pop. After-wards Zakk & I knew that staying was the right thing to do… God was with us..

“Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.” (Jeremiah 29:12-13)

It was on that day in June 2008, I learned that God is with me always in ALL situations and trials it’s just up to us to seek Him. I am reminded that Heaven’s bells ring loud continuously with the promise of God’s Presence. There are some people that will never hear those beautiful bells because their minds are entangled in the world and their hearts have rejected Him. There will be others that hear the beautiful bells only once or twice in their lifetime in the rare moments that they are seeking Him above everything else. It is God’s desire is that His “sheep” hear His voice continually, because He is the ever present Shepherd. Seek to find a quiet place where you can learn to hear His voice. Beginners need a quiet place so that they can relax their minds. Once you advance in this discipline, you will gradually learn to carry the stillness with you wherever you go. Once you step back into the hustle & bustle of life; you will strain to hear those glorious bells but remember, God is with you. 

“I am the good shepherd; I know my sheep and my sheep know me— My sheep listen to myvoice; I know them, and they follow me. I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; no one will snatch them out of my hand.” (John 10:14, 27-28)

MY CHALLENGE to YOU… Listen for the glorious bells…  

I hope that you all have FANTASTIC day.. Blessings & much love….D

ALWAYS…..Live YOUR life like it’s your LAST 24!!!

#last24 #wpbc #eternalmission #itslife

TO RECEIVE THIS DEVOTIONAL AUTOMATICALLY VIA EMAIL 

If you would like to receive my daily devotional via email copy & paste this link in your web browser: https://last24ministries.wordpress.com

In the bottom right hand corner click Follow and enter your email address.. You should immediately receive a confirmation email where you have to confirm that you meant to sign up.

Leave a Reply

