The Numbers On Your Scale Are Not Important 

Good Morning my friends,

It’s Friday but SUNDAY’S COMING!!!

Every year people spend billions of dollars on cosmetics, health spas, physical fitness machines, and concoctions claiming to make them live longer, look younger or to lose weight. Age will eventually overtake even the most beautiful or physically fit people in the world and just like everyone else they will die. For Christians, we know that someday we will have perfect bodies that will never age, experience pain or have a disease. Someday our dead bodies will be “raised in glory” (1 Corinthians 15:43), and we will be like Christ in His resurrection body. I can only imagine what that will be like But I do know that the resurrected body of Jesus is the pattern or design for my new body.

“For our citizenship is in heaven, from which we also eagerly wait for the Savior, The Lord Jesus Christ, who will transform our lowly body that it may be conformed to His glorious body.” (Philippians 3:20-21)

Most of you don’t know that on this day 11 years ago I had weight-loss surgery (lap band). The morning of my surgery I tipped the scales at 373lbs. Fourteen months after my surgery I hit my lowest weight 203lbs. I maintained between 210-225 until about 5 years ago. That when I developed some minor problems with my band and had to correct with a six week liquid diet. During that six weeks I drank nothing but EAS Protein shakes for each of my five mini meals per day.. The other liquids that I drank were decaffeinated ice tea, water and Gatorade. After six weeks, I went back to my doctor and she thought I was lying about what I consumed because I gained 20lbs however my proof was that the problem with my lap band was corrected. I then chose not to have my band refilled. You see, I hadn’t eat steak, pizza, any kind of bread, and many other things in almost six years. The steak I ate was was amazing but the pizza, biscuits & gravy, chicken fried steak etc..etc was even better.. It was so good that I gained 40lbs in about 10 weeks and that’s when I decided it was time to get my band filled.. My doctor was so mad… But she got over it.. I got my band filled and dropped a quick 15lbs and have not been back since. 

I decided that I wanted to do it different. I was going to lose the rest of my weight through exercise. Keri and I started P90x.. It was beyond tough for this fat boy but we loved it.. I dropped 20lbs in six weeks, but unfortunately I caught a cold while traveling with my job and when it was all said and we ended up missing 17 days and never went back to it. We started walking but that never works. We ended up purchasing Insanity and that was even tougher but we loved it even more. After six weeks on Insanity, I was diagnosed with cancer and was told by my doctor to stop immediately. In January 2013 with my cancer “behind” me, we purchased Les Miles Combat because it was less strenuous on my body as requested by my doctor. This one by far was our favorite. We completed the first 30 day block and had decided to start it over because we were able to stay up with and wanted to get maximum results. After a week, I started experiencing some health issues, so I stopped for a week and once my issues subsided we started back up. My issues returned after a week so again we stopped again and I went to the doctor. I ended up having to totally stop because I had to have another surgery. In late June after recovering from my surgery. I decided to heck with the exercise, I would just do it through my diet and a product called Zija. After a month, I was down 15lbs and feeling great. In late July, I felt a couple of lumps in my pelvic area and went to the doctor to have them checked out. My doctor wanted to perform surgery immediately and they ended up removing 5 cancerous masses, part of a vein in my left leg that was compromised by the cancer and most of the lymph nodes and they told me that once I recovered from surgery I was going to have to go through 3 or 4 months of chemo. After going through the chemo, They told me I was going to do 25 treatments of radiation in 30 days. I finished the radiation on Feb 28, 2014. I had noticed that during my radiation I had a lump in my left pelvic area come up again. They did a CT scan and I was told it was scar tissue from all my previous surgeries. The “scar tissue” increased in size so I went to my oncologist and had another CT scan. Once again I was told that it was “scar tissue” but if I was concerned and it would ease my mind to make an appointment to see my cancer doctor. After a month I decided I wanted to ease my mind. I made an appointment and he examined me and told me that since I was scheduled to have a PET Scan in a month to get the scan done and come see him afterwards. I had the scan and went to see him and he informed me that my “scar tissue” was indeed cancer and he wanted to refer me to one of the best doctors in the world for my type of cancer but it meant me traveling 5 hours to MD Anderson in Houston. I took chemo every week from the last week of Sept through the first week in April. Three weeks later I endured a 15 hour surgery that involved my cancer surgeon whom removed a tumor with the diameter of a softball. My vascular surgeon removed most of my femoral nerve because it was compromised by the tumor, she also removed a artery and and two veins that were also compromised and replaced the with one from a cadaver. My third surgeon was a plastic surgeon whom was responsible for filling in the spot where the tumor was located. He took muscle from my abdomen and moved them down to fill in the area. When the surgery was all said and done I had a total of 6 ft of sutures. In July, I found out that I had another tumor and started another round of chemo the first week in August. After 3 treatments and another CT Scan I was told the tumor increase in size and they found yet another near my left groin. I started my 4th round of chemo this past Tuesday.

I’ve told you all this to say this. I’ve been trying to lose the same 45 lbs going on five years. In fact my third round of chemo increased that 45lbs to 75 because of a weekly steroid I was administered. I have lost at least 30lbs on 5 separate occasions. As of today I still would like to lose about 45lbs to be where I would like to be but in all honesty if I never make it I could care less because I will never let the numbers on my scale define me as a person. I’ve learned that weight-loss is difficult but changing what’s on the side is just as tough but much more important.  

“Because I live, you also will live.” (John 14:19)

                   
MY CHALLENGE PRAYER for YOU…. Don’t let the numbers on the scale define whom you are but instead let what’s on the inside do it.  

I hope that you all have a FANTASTIC day.. Blessings & much love….D

ALWAYS…..Live YOUR life like it’s your LAST 24!!!

#last24 #wpbc #eternalmission #itslife

TO RECEIVE THIS DEVOTIONAL AUTOMATICALLY VIA EMAIL 

If you would like to receive my daily devotional via email click this link:   Last 24 Ministry

In the bottom right hand corner click Follow and enter your email address.. You should immediately receive a confirmation email where you have to confirm that you meant to sign up.

Leave a Reply

