Loving with God’s Love

Good Morning my friends

Her letter said, “I can’t live with him, but I can’t live without him either.” She had moved out three times but kept coming back. Her story repeated thousands of times every day but had many different variations. All marriages are different and you can’t over simplify or overlook the uniqueness of every relationship. But what’s the problem? Why can’t spouses seem to get along? We can answer that question by asking another. What is the opposite of love? It’s not hate (although it may take that form). The opposite of love is selfishness. When a husband and wife are concerned only about their own individual desires, the stage is set for conflict.  

I honestly could write a book about selfishness in marriage because I lived it for 20 years.  I took and took and took.. I manipulated, schemed and lied to get my way whether it was to hang out with my buddies drinking or coming up with reasons/excuses not to go places I didn’t want to go. I was concerned about what I wanted to do and really not much more. Many couples would’ve been divorced 10 or 15 years before but luckily I married a woman with a lot of patience. She refused to give up on me. I guess although I was selfish when it came to our marriage, she saw that I wasn’t that way with our boys and she thought perhaps one day I would change and become that way with her. I’m not sure what she saw but I’m glad she never gave up.  

Today my marriage is different. It all changed one the first weekend in Oct 2011 at a marriage retreat called Encounter Marriage Weekend. It was during a single moment illustrated by Rick & Brenda Laurence that changed me forever. They had swords in their hands standing back to back. They talked how when couples stand back to back they’re able to fight and defeat from both directions. Then they talked about how sometimes one in the marriage might succumb to the battle and that’s when the other one has to fight front and back. It was that moment that brought me to my knees.. I finally saw that Keri had been fighting front and back for 20 years. It was that moment that I said, “NO MORE.” Since then it has been “heart to heart with nothing in between.” Marriage is more than just a ceremony in a church. It is a covenant. Couples should be willing to invest more in their marriage than they do anything else in their lives. 

The Bible gives us another way the way of Christ. True love, it says, is self-giving, not self-seeking. True love puts the needs of others first. This is what Christ did when He left Heaven’s glory and came down to Earth for us. Begin a new page in your marriage by asking Christ to become the center of your life and your marriage

“Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs.”(1 Corinthians 13:4-5)

                    

MY CHALLENGE PRAYER for YOU….. Take your marriage to the next level…

I hope that you all have a WONDERFUL day.. Blessings & much love….D

ALWAYS…..Live YOUR life like it’s your LAST 24!!!

#last24 #wpbc #eternalmission #itslife

TO RECEIVE THIS DEVOTIONAL AUTOMATICALLY VIA EMAIL 

If you would like to receive my daily devotional via email copy & paste this link in your web browser: https://last24ministries.wordpress.com


In the bottom right hand corner click Follow and enter your email address.. You should immediately receive a confirmation email where you have to confirm that you meant to sign up.

Leave a Reply

