Serving God During Affliction 

Good Morning my friends,
As I laid awake last night, I couldn’t help but think about the poison that will being pumping into my body next Tuesday. In the beginning, God never intend for His perfect creation to have to endure something like this. Adam & Eve were set to live in perfect peace and harmony in the Garden of Eden. All they had to was obey Gods single command which was do not eat from the tree of life.. How hard would that have been seriously? Then I reminded myself that I have failed God many times even with the Holy Spirit nudging me and saying “here’s your opportunity to get out and come back to Me.” Adam & Eve didn’t know anything about sin or deceit. They had never been lied to or committed a sin. Unlike man today whom knows about sin but yet still commits it daily.  

I’m thankful for where I am because I could have it a lot worse. Next Tuesday, I could be sitting in that same room but on the other side of the equation. It could be one of my amazing boys, my beautiful wife, my sweet mom, my courageous dad again, my somewhat annoying diva sister, my loving brother-in-law, my determined nephew or my head-strong niece. I wouldn’t want that because I sat in that chair about 10 years ago when my dad was diagnosed lung cancer. Although he didn’t have to go through chemotherapy, I can remember like it was yesterday watching him struggle doing his breathing treatments after his surgery. I can remember the feeling of helplessness that I felt and crying non-stop as I drove home from the hospital after visiting him. Here was my hero, the roughest and toughest guy that I had ever known struggling to do something that I took for granted every day. The thought of being on the other side and watching my boys, my wife or another family member go through this is unfathomable to me. I’ve always been the fixer and that’s something I can’t fix.  

I can’t help but be thankful for where I am. During the last 39 months I haven’t ever asked “why me Lord.” Instead I have said, “thank you Lord, I’m honored to serve you during my affliction.”  

My faith & strength is nothing special. It’s nothing you or anyone else doesn’t have in them. I’ve been on the other side of the fence at the bottom without faith or strength. When you’re in that place, the thoughts that run through your mind are much different. Those thoughts were not fun nor happy and definitely not thankful. Luckily I had people in my life that were willing too tell me there’s a better way. A way that I will never be alone in the trials of life and it comes with a simple decision. I could chose where I was at the moment which was alone or I could choose a better way where God will NEVER abandon me..  

Proverbs 3:5-6 says, “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to Him, and he will make your paths straight.” 

Notice it says to “trust in The Lord with ALL your heart..” He doesn’t want part of you heart.. He wants ALL or nothing. “Lean not on your own understanding..” Don’t try to do it your way and understand it. It doesn’t work that way. God will reveal to you in His time and it will all make sense. “In all your ways submit to Him…” God don’t want only part of you and your life.. He wants you to submit all aspects or your life to you .. “He will make your paths straight..” Your path will no longer look like cooked spaghetti noodles. When God is directing your life.. He will bring you peace and give you joy during your zig zags of life… Once you’re totally submitted to God, and living His Word, He will chisel your faith & strength into a beautiful sculpture that you to can share with others..
Someone once said, “that when faith is strong, troubles become trifles.” That doesn’t mean our troubles aren’t real or that we act as if they don’t exist. God takes them serious, in fact He takes them so serious that He sent Jesus Christ into the world to deal with their cause, which is sin. Just as Jesus triumphed over death, He also helps of us triumph over trouble. Even in the midst of troubles, Jesus can “turn your mourning to joy.” (Jeremiah 31:13).

How does it happen? By having faith in God and reminding ourselves that He has not and will not abandon us and that He has perfect plans for your future. God can even give us an optimistic spirit. There was was an Englishman I heard about in World War II who stood looking at the deep hole in the ground where his bombed out home once stood. As he looked over the rumble he said, “I always wanted a basement. Now I can jolly well build another house like I always wanted.”

“You are my hiding place; you will protect me from trouble and surround me with songs of deliverance.” (Psalm 32:7)               

MY CHALLENGE PRAYER for YOU.. Make Proverbs 3:5-6 your life verse..

I hope you all have a TREMENDOUS day.. Blessings & much love….D

ALWAYS…..Live YOUR life like it’s your LAST 24!!!

#last24      #wpbc      #eternalmission       #itslife

TO RECEIVE THIS DEVOTIONAL AUTOMATICALLY VIA EMAIL 

If you would like to receive my daily devotional via email copy & paste this link in your web browser: https://last24ministries.wordpress.com


In the bottom right hand corner click Follow and enter your email address.. You should immediately receive a confirmation email where you have to confirm that you meant to sign up.

Leave a Reply

