Standing On No

Good Morning my friends

 We all have a conscience that’s sits as a judge over your every thought, word, and deed. It can be many different things like sensitive, undeveloped, or distorted, depending upon the way you have used or abused it. In fact, according to the Bible your conscience is defiled by sin. That is reason it’s not a reliable guide by itself. Your conscience has to be cleansed by the purifying work of the Holy Spirit. It has to be honed and sharpened by the truth of the Word of God. Because Satan will twist your consciences if it’s not yielded to Christ and he will convince us that wrong is really right. Despite your conscience being so fragile, it is still important, and God still uses it to warn us of danger. We all have experienced the backlash of guilt after you have sinned or have had a transgression..

“Let your conscience be your guide!!” As I was growing up, I bet my mom told me and my sister that at least 10,000 times. I can’t remember whenever me and my buddies would be leaving my house to go out for the night she would always tell us all that out she would whisper it in my ear while I was hugging her good bye.  

Did her message work?   

In all honesty, more times than not it usually worked on me with the bigger things. It was something I would be reminded of when I was about to do something really stupid. It hardly ever worked on the smaller things such as drinking alcohol or smoking pot. As I look back I can’t help but think of numerous times even as an adult that my conscience said NO, but I ignored it and said YES..  

I would tell myself it’s just this one time. I won’t don’t it again. God will forgive me. The next time would roll around and my conscience would say NO but I would say YES and do it again.. This time I would tell myself, no one is around or getting hurt it’s ok..  Afterwards each time, I would get this overwhelming sense of guilt and shame. 

Why do we justify our actions? Why can’t we be strong enough as individuals to stand on NO?
Truth be know.. We can be.. It just takes practice. If it’s practiced enough it will become automatic. Zakk loves music and when he was was in elementary, he took guitar lessons for about a year.. He got so frustrated because he could only play parts of his favorite Metallica songs but never the solos. I would constantly tell him, that takes practice. You need to learn and practice your chords & scales so that that become second nature to you and the you will learn progressions which when it’s all put together become things like solos. The problem was that he had already learned about Instant gratification. He eventually just stopped playing all together and now at almost 21 years old, he regrets not putting the time and effort into the pursuit of something he loves.  

That’s the problem with our society, we expect immediate gratification. We would rather get immediate gratification rather than put in the time, effort & energy that’s required to reach something greater than gratification. As humans, we would even rather do something wrong or sinful so that we can get some instant gratification rather than to stand on NO and become a better person.. That’s because there’s no immediate gratification in becoming a better person when no one is watching.

“How much more, then, will the blood of Christ, who through the eternal Spirit offered himself unblemished to God, cleanse our consciences from acts that lead to death, so that we may serve the living God!” (Hebrews 9:14) 

Is God speaking to you about something that is not right in your life? Perhaps something you may be doing wrong although you know it dishonors Christ? Don’t ignore it!! Face your sin, confess it, get it right, and never touch it again. 

                            

Maybe you are struggling with today? Stand on NO and treat yourself to a burger or some ice cream and write this day down as a reminder that you achieved victory and then next time think back to this day.. Use it as a stepping stone…

MY CHALLENGE PRAYER for YOU…. Be strong and stand on NO!!

I hope you all have a TERRIFIC day.. Blessings & much love….D

ALWAYS…..Live YOUR life like it’s your LAST 24!!!

#last24 #wpbc #eternalmission #itslife

TO RECEIVE THIS DEVOTIONAL AUTOMATICALLY VIA EMAIL 
If you would like to receive my daily devotional via email copy & paste this link in your web browser: https://last24ministries.wordpress.com


In the bottom right hand corner click Follow and enter your email address.. You should immediately receive a confirmation email where you have to confirm that you meant to sign up.

Leave a Reply

