Decisions in Parenthood

Good Morning my friends

I love talking about my boys. When I look at them I can’t help but smile. They’re only 2 years 4 months 2 days apart and were raised the same but yet so different. When Keri I decided to have kids we prayed for boys and there were never any doubt in our minds that they were going to be anything different. We wanted boys because we both knew that I wouldn’t be able to handle a girl(s). I have several good friends that have girls and my hats off to them because the thought of my teenage daughter leaving with some irresponsible boy with only one thing on his mind scared the begeebers out of me. Keri & I have tried to raise our boys to be different.   

So far, there’s only been a few difficult times that we’ve sit back and watched their hearts get broken by a girl that chooses another boy over them. Those are the times you just sit back, shack your head and say girl, “if you only knew what you’re missing out on.” Keri & I pray continually for God to be preparing someone special that will win the hearts of our boys. Someone that deserves their gentle kind heart. Someone that will respect them and stand beside them and allow them to be the leader that God wants them to be. We’ve instilled in our boys that females are not just objects that fulfill their passion or desires and they should never be treated that way. They should never be taken advantage of physically or mentally. They should be always be treated with honor, dignity and respect. They should be treated as you would want your mother or sister to be treated. 

We were able to instill these things in our boys because we made sacrifices when they were babies and toddlers. We chose to let Keri be a stay at home mom. When we could no longer afford for her to do that, we made the decision for her to work evenings so they wouldn’t have to go to daycare. We did this despite knowing that it would put a strain on our marriage. Once the boys got into elementary, Keri was lucky to find jobs that allowed her to work out of our home and then later she became substitute teacher. I chose a career that would allow me to stay involved in my boys life. One that would allow me to be a father and attend school functions and never miss practices or games. I could’ve made a lot more money in other careers but instead I chose to be involved.   Is that the right way or the wrong way?  It was the right way for Keri & me.   I’ve watched my boys over the 3-4 years develop a bond that we hope & pray will only grow stronger and last for the rest of our life and beyond. We wished that it would’ve developed earlier in life but they both finally realize that they’re both pretty cool to be around. They have found that common ground. Is it a coincidence that it comes at a time in our life that as a family we have never been closer to God? I don’t believe in coincidences but instead I believe that God has always had His Hand on my family. 

“The same Jesus Who turned water into wine can transform your home, your life, your family, and your future. He is still in the miracle-working business, and His business is the business of transformation.” ~ Adrian Rogers

Today there are more pressures on the home than perhaps at any other time in history of the world. By necessity or by desire, more women are working today than ever before.. Many feel guilty about leaving their children in the care of others or having them return to an empty home after school while they’re at work. A lot of parents still devote more attention to working life than they do to their family life. It’s no wonder that so many homes are in trouble? There is no achievement in life that is equal to a happy home and children who grow up to praise their parents. All material goals that are ever reached will eventually rust and be thrown away. However, the heritage of godly children is timeless and will be passed on to many generations..  Our primary responsibility is to be sure our children grow up in homes where God is honored and the love of Christ reigns. 

“Children are a gift from the Lord, they are a reward from him.” (Psalm 127:3)

MY CHALLENGE PRAYER for YOU…. Chose the betterment of your kids not yourself..

I hope that you all have a GREAT day.. Blessings & much love….D

ALWAYS…..Live YOUR life like it’s your LAST 24!!

#last24 #wpbc #eternalmission #itslife

TO RECEIVE THIS DEVOTIONAL AUTOMATICALLY VIA EMAIL 
If you would like to receive my daily devotional via email copy & paste this link in your web browser: https://last24ministries.wordpress.com


In the bottom right hand corner click Follow and enter your email address.. You should immediately receive a confirmation email where you have to confirm that you meant to sign up.

Leave a Reply

