The Bottomless Pity of Self-Pity

Good Morning my friends, 

You have a choice to loath in self pity which ultimately will send you plummeting into an abyss or you can relish in confidence that you can find in knowing Jesus.. I often see people post about the woo’s that they’re experiencing in their life but yet most of the time they never seem to be willing to accept the responsibility for their current situation.  It’s never their fault and ALWAYS someone else’s.  Your circumstances in life are not caused by someone twisting your arm, but instead are a direct result from the choices you have made in your life.  The drug addict chooses to do drugs, the alcoholic chooses to drink, the weak choose to not do anything to get strong, and the broke choose not to do anything about their finances.. People want change in their life and in our society but yet they’re unwilling to make the right choices to make the changes that are needed in their own lives first.       

I fell into my bottomless pit of self-pity in the summer 2011. This was solely the result of the many poor choices that I starting making during the spring of that year. I like everyone else placed blame on everyone but myself. I even convinced myself that it was God sent. Let me tell you, if you ever make a decision that results with you having to commit sin then it’s definitely not God sent. Once I finally took responsibility for my actions, I also decided that I needed to make changes in my life. The changes I started with was in my heart. I asked Jesus to come into my heart and change it. I then chose to make changes in the direction that my life was headed. My change of direction meant going in the opposite direction from where I was previously headed. It meant changing the people I hung out with, it meant eliminating vendors, and it meant changing the things I placed in my body. How could I expect to ever change, if I continued to walk down the same path. Albert Einstein defined insanity as doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.   I was ready and wanted a different result in my life, so I made the decision to make the changes and once I made those changes my life changed..  A couple years later, after reading The Traveler’s Gift, I adopted the 7 Decisions for Success from the book.  

“1. The buck stops here. I am responsible for my past and my future.

2. I will seek wisdom. I will be a servant to others.

3. I am a person of action. I seize this moment. I choose now.

4. I have a decided heart. My destiny is assured.”

5. Today I will choose to be happy. I am the possessor of a grateful spirit.

6. I will greet this day with a forgiving spirit. I will forgive myself.

7. I will persist without exception. I am a person of great faith.”

Excerpt From: Andrews, Andy. “The Traveler’s Gift.” Thomas Nelson, 2010-03-28. iBooks.   This material may be protected by copyright.

Check out this book on the iBooks Store: https://itun.es/us/xtwnK.l

“Why, my soul, are you downcast? Why so disturbed within me? Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise him, my Savior and my God.” (Psalm 42:5)

Self-pity is a slimy bottomless pit. Once you fall in, you will go deeper and deeper into the mire. As you slide down those slippery walls, you’re well on your way to depression. The darkness from inside is very profound and can seem never ending and once you’re in your only hope is to look for the light of Jesus’ Presence that will be shining down on you. Although the Light may appear dim from your perspective from deep within the pit, those rays of hope can reach you at any depth no matter what. While you focus on the trust of Jesus instead of where you are, you will rise slowly out of your abyss of despair. Once you’re finally able to reach up and grasp His hand, He will pull you out of your abyss and into the Light of His Holy Presence. He will gently cleanse your soul while washing off the clinging mire. He will cover you with His righteousness and walk with you down your path of Life.

“He lifted me out of the slimy pit, out of the mud and mire; he set my feet on a rock and gave me a firm place to stand. He put a new song in my mouth, a hymn of praise to our God. Many will see and fear the Lord and put their trust in him.” (Psalm 40:2-3)

MY CHALLENGE PRAYER for YOU.. It’s your decision to take action and change your life..
I hope you all have a TREMENDOUS day… Blessing & much love…D
ALWAYS…..

Live YOUR life like it’s your LAST 24!!

#last24 #wpbc #eternalmission #itslife
TO RECEIVE THIS DEVOTIONAL AUTOMATICALLY VIA EMAIL 

If you would like to receive my daily devotional via email copy & paste this link in your web browser: https://last24ministries.wordpress.com

In the bottom right hand corner click Follow and enter your email address.. You should immediately receive a confirmation email where you have to confirm that you meant to sign up.

One thought on “The Bottomless Pity of Self-Pity

  1. Dino, God has so blessed you with the gift of being a messenger for him. You have done a wonderful job of bringing the focus back on us for the decisions we make. I can definitely relate to what you are saying. The more I focus on His word the better choices I make for myself and my family. God bless you and your family this beautiful day.

Leave a Reply

