Possessing not Just Professing

Good Morning my friends, 

My spiritual journey began when I was a toddler.  I can remember going to church with my mom, sister, grand parents, aunts, uncles & cousins.  I don’t remember much besides the preacher being loud, it being hot and sitting there for what seemed to be an ALL day.  I can remember as I got a little older, riding the church bus with my sister and the other neighborhood kids to Glenview Baptist and to North Park Baptist as well.
My actual walk began in April 1979 at Beacon Baptist.  I walked the aisle and made a profession of faith.  I was baptized shortly there after.  I was 10 years old professing something that I believed but in reality didn’t quite grasp.  My family & I continued going to church for a couple of years longer and then quit going all together..  When I became a teenager, I always felt that something was missing in my life.  I couldn’t quite put my finger on it but something wasn’t right.   Keri & I got married in August 91 and started attending Southcliff Baptist a couple of years afterwards.  It was during that time that I felt that God was calling me into the ministry.  Like Jonah, I ran from God’s calling.  Keri & I continued attending church throughout our marriage and I continued professing my faith but deep down inside there was something missing.   I did as a lot of people do in our society.  I attended church on a weekly basis but lived like hell as soon as I walked out the doors.  I drank & cursed like a sailor, I did drugs and I dishonored my wife & kids.  I played games with satan almost daily.   I didn’t worry about what I did during the week because I had my profession of faith in my pocket.   I was doing like many “believers” do everyday.  I used my profession of faith as my GET OUT OF HELL FREE card.
 I had been running from God for almost 20 years playing a game of cat and mouse with Him & satan.  God finally said enough.  He did to me the same as He did with Jonah.  He said, I’ve given you every opportunity to submit to My Will but yet you have chosen to do things your way.  He stirred my sea as He did Jonah and in April 2011, I started playing another game which eventually delivered me to the belly of my own whale.   As I watched my life spiral out of control, God continued to provide me with plenty of opportunities to exit from the belly but instead I chose to make one poor choice after another.   Despite the pain that I had brought into my family and marriage, my wife Keri NEVER gave up on me.  She continued praying and telling me that she wasn’t giving up and that I would be the one that had to give up. 
It was during this time that we started going to church at Willow Park Baptist Church.   God did with me what He did with Jonah.  God had plan for me.  He knew that in order for me to surrender to Him, I was going to have to be delivered from the pits of hell and He delivered me.  On November 13th 2011, Pastor Bosher delivered a message that changed my life forever.  During his sermon he talked about people being a professor of faith rather than possessor of faith.  He made the analogy of knowing your favorite athletes stats.  He said that we can talk about how many touchdowns they scored or home runs they hit all day but that doesn’t mean we know them.  That is only a mere profession of knowledge.  He said to make it to heaven we must have a possession of faith.  Possession of faith means that your daily life coincides with  your profession. That means you walk what you talk.  I accepted Christ as my personal Savior that morning and became a possessor of faith and haven’t looked back..  My eyes are focused on the cross and being a light in this dark world..


“The Lord makes firm the steps of the one who delights in him; though he may stumble, he will not fall, for the Lord upholds him with his hand.”  (Psalm 37:23-24)



Walk with Jesus along the path that He has chosen for you.  Desiring to live close to Him is a delight to His heart.  Jesus could easily grant you the spiritual riches you desire, but that is not His way for you.  He wants to forge a pathway up a high mountain with you.  The journey will be arduous at times because you don’t have all the strength you need to make it but that’s why He wants to walk with you. He wants you to lean on Him when you need more strength.  Someday you will dance light-footed on the peak but for now, your walk will be plodding and heavy.  All Jesus requires of you is to be willing to take the next step while clinging to His hand for strength and direction .  Though the path is difficult and the scenery might be dull at the moment, there will be sparkling surprises at many different points during your journey.  jStay on the path that He has selected for you.  It’s the path of Life.  


“You make known to me the path of life; you will fill me with joy in your presence, with eternal pleasures at your right hand.” (Psalm 16:11)



MY CHALLENGE PRAYER for YOU..   Submit to God and allow Him to direct your climb up the mountain.


I hope you all have a WONDERFUL day…      Blessing & much love…D


ALWAYS…..
Live YOUR life like it’s your LAST 24!!


#last24     #wpbc     #eternalmission     #itslife



TO RECEIVE THIS DEVOTIONAL AUTOMATICALLY VIA EMAIL 

If you would like to receive my daily devotional via email copy & paste this link in your web browser:    https://last24ministries.wordpress.com

In the bottom right hand corner click Follow and enter your email address..  You should immediately receive a confirmation email where you have to confirm that you meant to sign up..
3 thoughts on “Possessing not Just Professing

  1. My path is Christ.Thank you Dino for your love for Jesus.I look forward for 24 everyday no matter what country I may be in.

Leave a Reply

