Defined by Your Heart not a Number

Good Morning my friends, 

 Low self-esteem has never been an issue with me.   Even when my weight peaked at an all-time high of 375lbs, I never lost my self-worth.   No matter how much our society tries to brainwash us, you should never let the numbers on a scale define you.   That’s done by what’s in the heart not your outward appearance.  I’ve met a lot of people that offer nothing besides their perfect appearance.   When I was in high school, I was a little over weight.   Although I was a popular guy in school,  I never garnered the attention from the girls.  I’m guessing that my sweet disposition or my shyness wasn’t very attractive to them.   In fact, I don’t even recall ever being told by anyone that a girl was even interested in me and I was totally fine with that.  I was always the guy that received the phone call from the crying girl when their boyfriend treated them like crap or was a jerk towards them.   I did my duties of lending a shoulder to cry on and never tried to take advantage of the situation.    I never quite understood why the guys that treated girls the worse never had a problem getting or having a girlfriend.  I think I might have went out on a date  2-3 times during my whole time at HHS and they were blind dates with girls from other schools.  After graduating from HHS, I lost  35-40lbs and things changed, I started getting noticed.   Of course it didn’t hurt that I had a job and was able to spend money on whatever I wanted but it still wasn’t like I had to carry around a big stick beating the girls away.   I guess I was just too nice.   
Now almost 30 years later, I can smile big.  Because when I see my female classmates, I can look them in the eyes without any repercussion and know that they aren’t remembering how poorly I treated them or how I used them for any sort of personal gain.   I didn’t understand it then but I’m happy knowing that my female classmates felt a sense safety with me.  I was a safe place from them to fall without them having to worry about anything else.  
People are defined by their actions, how they treat people, and how they make others feel not whether or not they have six pack abs,  perfect hair, firm thighs and perfect boobs.   All those latter things are superficial and will eventually fail and when they do then what?    God confirms what He looks at in 1 Samuel 16:7 when he tells Samuel, “Do not consider his appearance or his height, for I have rejected him. The Lord does not look at the things people look at. People look at the outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart.   God’s children need to spend more time transforming their heart than they do their body.  The desire to lose weight and be fit is not a bad thing but it needs to be done for the right reason.  It should not be done to draw the attention of others but so you can serve God with your very best..

“Therefore, holy brothers and sisters, who share in the heavenly calling, fix your thoughts on Jesus, whom we acknowledge as our apostle and high priest.” (Hebrews 3:1)

Jesus wants you to experience the riches of salvation which is the Joy of being loved constantly and perfectly.   God knows that you are constantly judging yourself based on how you look, behave or feel.  If you like what you see in the mirror, you feel a bit more worthy of His Love.   When things are going smoothly and your performance meets your expectations you find it easier to believe you are His beloved child.  When you feel discouraged, you tend to look inward so you can correct whatever is wrong.  Instead of trying to “fix” yourself, fix your gaze on Him.  Jesus is the Lover of your soul.  Rather than using your energy to judge yourself, redirect it to praising Him.  Remember that Jesus sees you clothed in His righteousness, radiant in His perfect Love.

“Those who look to him are radiant; their faces are never covered with shame.”(Psalm 34:5)

“In order that in the coming ages he might show the incomparable riches of his grace, expressed in his kindness to us in Christ Jesus. For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith—and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God.”(Ephesians 2:7-8)

MY CHALLENGE PRAYER for YOU….    I hope your desire to be fit is not for self-aggrandizement but for the glory of God.  
I hope you all have a TERRIFIC day…      Blessing & much love…D
ALWAYS…..
Live YOUR life like it’s your LAST 24!!


#last24     #wpbc     #eternalmission     #itslife

TO RECEIVE THIS DEVOTIONAL AUTOMATICALLY VIA EMAIL 

If you would like to receive my daily devotional via email copy & paste this link in your web browser:    https://last24ministries.wordpress.com
In the bottom right hand corner click Follow and enter your email address..  You should immediately receive a confirmation email where you have to confirm that you meant to sign up..

Leave a Reply

