Mountain Top Marriage

Good Morning my friends,  

A few years back Keri & I went to the taping of James Robinson’s Life Today tv show.   Pastor Jimmy Evans (whom is the host Marriage Today along with his wife Karen) was being interviewed because he had just finished writing a book called Lifelong Love Affair was due out within a few months.   A bonus for being at the taping was that we got a copy.  
I’m of the belief that marriage is more important than your job, your career,  your hobbies ..etc..etc..  and it should be treated that way as well.  Meaning that you should always be willing to invest in your marriage as you do those other things…  I believe that you should spend the money to attend marriage conferences and retreats, buy books to read together, have date night 2-3 times a month.  I’ve seen many people say they can’t afford to buy books but yet they buy Starbucks every morning and go out to eat for lunch & dinner 4-5 times a week.  I’ve heard people say they cant afford retreats or conferences but yet the have memberships in gun clubs & health clubs..  If you want a lasting marriage, marriage must be made a priority instead of an option.  
Keri & I read Jimmy’s book within a couple of weeks of getting it and upon finishing it we discovered that there is an 8 week study of the book in the back.   We made the decision to do the study in December so we could then do the recommended 3 day vision retreat where we do a workbook called Mountain Top Marriage.   As always got busy, so we put it off and kept putting it off which then lead to it going on the back burner which later lead it to being off the radar map.  I made the commitment to Keri that we would do the study because I know it’s important not to get complacent in marriage but it was something she was looking forward to.  In all honesty, I like doing them as well but I don’t like that we sometimes have to rehash the bad times which always makes for an emotional stress filled evening.   I know in order to grow closer there will be times of discomfort and there will be times when tears are going to be shed.  For me the tears are my reminder of ALL the hurt, the damage & the pain that I have caused in our marriage. It is a reminder of the severity of the choices we make in everyday life and the consequences that we could’ve faced.  I’m not sure what it is about her tears that troubles me the most..  Maybe it’s because it’s a reminder that she loves me so much but yet I have made her shed tears yet again.  Maybe it’s a reminder that I don’t deserve someone that loves me like she does.  Maybe its a reminder of all my short-comings when it comes to our relationship & marriage.   I’m not certain why her tears make me retreat behind the wall and make me want to crawl under a rock but I know in time God will grant me the ability to face those tears like a man of God should and embrace them because they belong to the woman of my dreams.  They belong to the woman that loves me beyond what I could ever imagine.  They belong to a woman that apologizes to me for being hurt by my actions. Lord, the next time I see the tears flow I ask You to remind me that You are by my side.  I want You to help me not be overwhelmed. 

“The Lord is my shepherd, I lack nothing. He makes me lie down in green pastures, he leads me beside quiet waters, he refreshes my soul. He guides me along the right paths for his name’s sake. Even though I walk through the darkest valley, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me.” (Psalm 23:1-4)

Stay calmly and conscious of God today, no matter what.  Remember that He goes before you as well as with you into the day.  Nothing takes Him by surprise. He will not allow circumstances to overwhelm you, so as long as you look towards Him.  God will help you cope with whatever the moment presents.  Collaborating with Him brings blessings that far outweigh all your troubles.   Awareness of His Presence contains joy that can endure all eventualities.

“Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day. For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all.” (2 Corinthians 4:16-17)

MY CHALLENGE PRAYER for YOU..   Stay calm no matter what and don’t be overwhelmed by circumstances because God is with you.
I hope you all have a WONDERFUL day…      Blessing & much love…D

ALWAYS…..
Live YOUR life like it’s your LAST 24!!


#last24 


#wpbc


#eternalmission


#itslife
One thought on “Mountain Top Marriage

Leave a Reply

