Battle on the Gridiron

Good Morning my friends, 
When I entered high school in 1984 I had one thing on my mind and that was to play high school football.   I spent the summer before the start of 10th grade lifting weights getting bigger & stronger because all I heard was that I was going to need to be bigger & stronger.   My passion for the game ran deep.  I had been playing since 1st grade but been practicing with my dad for as long as I could remember.  It was my desire to play hard every down.  I wanted to be the leader of my troops and be the dedicated our school, our team and our colors.  
My high school football journey came to a crashing halt mid way through the football season when my knee was practically destroyed in the 6th game of the season up in Wichita Falls, TX.   My high school football playing days ended but in reality my life had really just begun.  My last two years of high school, during football season was spent supporting and cheering for my ex- teammates..  I went to every game both home and away.  I was their biggest fan..   In all honesty, my ex teammates didn’t have much to do with me once I got out of athletics at the beginning of my Junior year.  We really didn’t talk much to one another nor did we hang out.  There was the occasional hey or head nod if we happen to pass while walking down the halls of Haltom High School but nothing more.  There might’ve been a couple that had something to do with me but nothing like before.  That common bond of football was broken.. I chose to get away from it because it would’ve been too difficult for me remain that close and connected.
Fast forward thirty-one years and I’ve reconnected with most of my team-mates because of Facebook.   We all took different paths to get to where we are today but I discovered that despite our different paths we didn’t let our paths define where we are today.   For many of us our passions still run deep but now we are passionate about God.  We still have the desire to serve but now our desire is to serve Jesus & glorify Him in everything we do.  We still have a willingness and ability to lead people but now we want to lead them to the Cross.  We are still dedicated but now we are dedicated to our Coach, our families, and our teammates that serve God. 
Three years ago, when I found out that I had cancer most of my teammates messaged me letting me know that they were praying for me and my family and that I wasn’t facing this journey alone.  I had come full circle.  My teammates that were always ready to go to battle with me on the football field were now my teammates in faith and were ready to go to battle with me with my battle with cancer..

“So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.”(Isaiah 41:10)

 Hold God’s hand and His Trust.  As long as you remain aware of His Presence within you, all is well.  It’s almost impossible to stumble while you’re walking in the Light with Him.  Stumbling occurs when you drift away.  God made you to enjoy Him above all else.  You will find the deepest fulfillment of your heart in Him alone.  Your fearful, anxious thoughts will melt away in the Light of His Presence.  When you turn or drift away from Him, you are vulnerable to the darkness that’s always at work in the world.  Don’t be surprised by how easily you sin or stumble when you forget to cling to God’s Hand.  In the world, dependency is seen as immaturity.   But in God’s Kingdom, dependence on Him is a pure measure of maturity.

“Yes, my soul, find rest in God; my hope comes from him. Truly he is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress, I will not be shaken.” (Psalm 62:5-6)

MY CHALLENGE PRAYER for YOU…    Find you rest in The Lord..
I hope you all have a MAGNIFICENT day…      Blessing & much love…D

ALWAYS…..
Live YOUR life like it’s your LAST 24!!


#last24 


#wpbc


#eternalmission


#itslife


Leave a Reply

