Silence is not Always Golden 

Good Morning my friends, 
SILENCE IS NOT ALWAYS GOLDEN….   Many people that know Keri would find it hard to believe that she hates silence.   When I married her almost 24 years ago, I knew that I had a special woman on my hands but I didn’t realize she was more special than I could ever possible imagine..   I constantly see my friends on Facebook post about their crazy wife or girlfriend.   I have to admit Keri is crazy and emotional.  I’ve learned however that her craziness and emotional ways are a lot different than mine.   Everyone has a little craziness and emotional sides but how we react to those feelings is what sets us apart from each other.  Evidently there are some people that go ballistic and get physical when those feelings surface.  For myself when I feel those crazy or emotional feelings surfacing, I have the tendency to seek silence.  I tend to retreat into my shell like a turtle so I can think things through.  This is the silence that Keri hates.  When I seek my silent refuge, all of her fears come to the surface.  Her craziness is different than mine and she reacts different than I do.  She is head over heels crazy in love with me and she shows that with her emotions.  It’s difficult for me to put into words what I mean but my silence becomes a hindrance in our marriage.   It took me a long time to understand this but I’ve learned to adapt or some would say pivot.  Silence is not always golden.  In marriage a little communication goes a long ways and for us it was way more important than my silent refuge.  Communicating and adapting is exactly what makes a strong marriage.  Most men would never believe that it’s the simple effortless things that make the biggest impact on a marriage.  Take for instance..   Keri loves that we pray together, she loves that I’m willing to invest time in our marriage by doing a daily Bible studies, by reading books about marriage with her, and by attending marriage retreats & conferences.   You invest in these things to make yourself better, why wouldn’t you be just as willing to invest in your marriage?  

“I wait for the Lord, my whole being waits, and in his word I put my hope.” (Psalm 130:5)


When you approach God in stillness and in trust, you are strengthened but you need a buffer zone of silence around you in order to focus on things that are unseen.  Since He is invisible, you must not let your senses dominate your thinking.  The curse of this age is overstimulation of the senses, which blocks out awareness of the unseen world.  The tangible world still reflects God’s Glory, to those who have eyes that see and ears that hear.  Spending time alone with Him is the best way to develop seeing eyes and hearing ears.  The goal is to be aware of unseen things even as you live out your life in the visible world. 

“So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen, since what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.” (2 Corinthians 4:18)

MY CHALLENGE PRAYER for YOU….  Trust in the stillness and allow Him to strengthen you.  
I hope you all have a MARVELOUS day…   Blessings & much love….D



ALWAYS…..
Live YOUR life like it’s your LAST 24!!


#last24 


#wpbc


#eternalmission


#itslife
Leave a Reply

