Acts: Purpose, Promise, & The Person

Good Morning my friends, 
The book of Acts could well be called the power book.  Dr.  Luke, beloved physician and author of the third Gospel reiterates the Lord’s promise of the power of the Holy Spirit.  Luke gives us the PURPOSE of Acts in 2:1-3 .  The disciples are continuing the work of The Lord Jesus as He works in and through them.  He gives the PROMISE of Acts in 2:4-8.  The Holy Spirit will come upon them that they might be witnesses.  A witness is someone who has seen something and can say something.  We who have met Jesus can tell others about Him!   But, most of all, he tells us about the PERSON in Acts 2:9-12.  The focus is on Jesus as He ascends back to heaven.  Keep your eyes on Jesus.  

Jesus said, “I am going to send you what my Father has promised; but stay in the city until you have been clothed with power from on high.” (‭Luke‬ ‭24‬:‭49‬)

This Sunday we celebrated Easter.  Easter has always been one of my favorite holidays and throughout my life it has been for various reasons.  When I was a kid of course it was about getting a basket of goodies from the Easter Bunny.  As a teenager it was about getting a three day weekend from school.  As a young adult just starting a family it was about the chance of being the Easter Bunny for my own kids.  Now that I’m an adult with older kids it’s about much more.  It’s about Jesus, the crucifixion & cross, and the empty tomb.  Don’t get me wrong.  I’ve been aware of the real reason for celebrating Easter since I was kid however it was always overshadowed for those other things.  Now it has a whole new meaning because I’m in a different place in my life than ever been before.   Now the Holy Spirit rest inside my soul.  The Holy Spirit ignites my fire within.  The Holy Spirit turns on my desire daily to be a good & faithful servant.  It has given my life a new purpose.  My purpose is to show the world where I was & where I’ve been and where I’m headed.  My purpose is to try and remove the scales from the eyes of those that are living a life like I was.  Those that are putting up a facade.  Those that are playing games.  Those that are either hiding or running away from God.   It’s impossible to hide from God..  God is faster than you.  I tried it all.  I finally submitted and so should you.  

Jesus said, “But the Advocate, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, will teach you all things and will remind you of everything I have said to you.”  (‭John‬ ‭14‬:‭26‬)

 
MY CHALLENGE PRAYER for YOU….    GO tell others about Jesus.
I hope you all have a MARVELOUS day…   Blessings & much love….D
Live YOUR life like it’s your LAST 24!!


#last24 


#wpbc


#eternalmission


#itslife
Leave a Reply

