Self-Pity

Good Morning my friends,

Guard yourself against the bottomless pit of self pity. When you are weary and unwell, this demonic trap is the greatest danger you will face. Don’t go near the edge of the pit. It’s edges crumble easily, and before you know it, you will be on your way down. It’s a lot harder to get out if the pit than to keep a safe distance from it. You can protect yourself with several ways from self pity. When you’re occupied with praising and thanking God, it’s impossible to feel sorry for yourself. The closer you live to God, the more distance there will be between you and the pit. Live in the Light of His Presence by fixing your eyes on Him and you will be able to run a race of endurance without stumbling or falling.

“Blessed are those who have learned to acclaim you, who walk in the light of your presence, Lord. They rejoice in your name all day long; they celebrate your righteousness.” (Psalm 89:15-16)


I’ve never been one to have self pity.. I’m just not one to feel sorry for myself or my circumstances.. I’ve always been one that has tried to play with the cards that I’ve been dealt or made for myself.. I’ve tried to accept the responsibilities for my mistakes, my actions and then I grab my boot straps, pull up my big boy underwear and hang-on for the ride ahead. Please don’t take what I’m saying wrong here. I have not always immediately accepted responsibility for my actions & mistakes. There have been times in my life when I’ve been like every other person in this world and blamed someone else for my stupidity.. I like every other sorry dog out there have lied, denied and blamed everyone else but myself for my actions.

Have you ever been around the person that is full of self-pity? Their whole world is against them.. It’s always about the bad things going on in their life and never the good things.. I don’t care how bad someone has it in life there can always be positive found. I do my best to stay away from doom & gloomers. I have a family member that does nothing but constantly complain about how bad their life is and how bad they have it. There have been times that I wanted to say, but you have a roof over your ungrateful head and food on your table every night so be thankful for those things. I want to tell them that the things they complain about are the result of their poor decisions. I’m not one to give self pity for those that seek it, however I will give you the shirt off my back and the shoes off my feet in freezing weather if I feel moved to do so.. I love to give but don’t take advantage of me…

A few years ago, I loaned a long time “friend” whom was a customer $1900 to pay for their flower bill. Now 5 years later I have yet to see $.01 but yet they have been on numerous vacations, go out to eat constantly, buy their kids frivolous things etc…etc.. When I was diagnosed with cancer in Aug 2012, they sent me a private message saying how they knew I could beat it etc etc and then had the nerve to say they couldn’t believe that I let money ruin a friendship.. I told them I appreciate the kind words and they were right that with Gods grace I was gonna beat cancer but as a friend they should’ve made sure the money got paid back.. I told them if the rolls were reversed I would’ve made sure that I paid them back if it meant me not eating nothing but peanut butter sandwiches for 6 months because that’s the type of person I am. I also said if I were in that situation again that I would do the same thing again because that what friends do.. I never heard another word.. Genuine friends are hard to come by..

“Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith. For the joy set before him he endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.” (Hebrews 12:1-2)


My CHALLENGE PRAYER for YOU.. Guard yourself against self pity..

I hope you all have a MAGNIFICENT day… Blessings & much love…D

Live YOUR life like it’s your LAST 24!!

#last24

#wpbc

#eternalmission

#itslife

Leave a Reply

