Independent or Dependent

Good Morning my friends,

Tomorrow both my mom & dad celebrate their birthday. My dad will be 71 and my mom will be 68. Thank you both for allowing me to be an individual when I was growing up and pushing me to become the best at whatever I was attempting. Happy Birthday!! I love you both so much…

Your awareness of your constant need for God is your greatest strength. Your neediness if properly handled can be a link to God’s Presence. You must continually guard yourself against the pitfalls of self pity, self-preoccupation and quitting/giving up. Your inadequacy presents you with two choices. Either deep dependence on God or despair. You can either fill the emptiness inside with your problems or with God’s Presence. Make Him central in your consciousness by praying continually: simple, short prayers flowing out of the present moment. Use His Name liberally, to remind you of His constant Presence. Keep asking and you will receive, and your happiness will be full and complete.

Growing up I was always independent. As a little boy, I wanted and tried to explore on my own and not be confined or held back. When I got older and decided it was time to move out, I vowed to never HAVE to move back home. I did this not because it was bad but because I wanted to prove to the world of my independence… For the record, I never had to go back.

My oldest son Zakk moved out almost two years ago to attend college at Texas A & M. Keri & I weren’t excited or ready at all for him to move out but we were excited for the opportunity that it was going to present for him. We had prayed throughout his teenage years that he was prepared for the road ahead. Zakk was even more independent than me when growing up. He was always much more mature than I was as well which made him seem even older. This past Monday, he celebrated his 20th birthday. When I think back about the times that we shared, I can’t help but wonder if those days are over. Yes, he still depends on us to support him financially, he still has a room to come home to when he’s able to come home but those weekend visits are getting less and less. Mick, my youngest will be leaving for college in a little over a year and I’m afraid that once that happens the days of all of us just sitting around the house chillin’ will come to an end. The thought of my boys no longer needing me troubles my heart. It only seems like it was yesterday when they were born and were so dependent on us.

The dependence that we love from our kids is the same that God wants from us as adults. God wants us to be childlike in our faith. By childlike He means like when we were most dependent upon our parents, not like as a teenagers when we sought to establish our own identity. I’m learning to be more & more dependent upon God, especially during times like becoming an empty-nester.

“Until now you have not asked for anything in my name. Ask and you will receive, and your joy will be complete.” (John 16:24)


My CHALLENGE PRAYER for YOU.. Learn to be more dependent on God..

I hope you all have a GREAT day… Blessings & much love…D

Live YOUR life like it’s your LAST 24!!

#last24

#wpbc

#eternalmission

#itslife

Leave a Reply

