Lake Stupid

Good Morning my friends

I think of my Salvation as a safety net or fire insurance. It is so much more than a “get out of hell” free card.. For so many years, I lived my life with the belief that because I believed that meant that I could live my life however I saw fit. I thought it meant that I could live in the flesh daily but pray whenever I wanted & be cleansed. I professed my faith but NEVER possessed it.

A couple of years ago, Dr Jerry Thorpe was a guest preacher at our church. Dr Thorpe is an AMAZING preacher whom presents his message eloquently. I remember him presenting a message to our congregation about choices. I know that I’ve made some really bad choices is my life. My choices have hurt the people that I love and the ones that love me the most. My choices were not always honoring & pleasing to God… My choices were most always self-serving. Dr. Thorpe told us about a young Indian boy & girl that lived on opposite sides of a lake. Everyday the boy would cry out his love for the girl and she would return the echo back to him. Day after day they would do this until one day the young boy couldn’t handle it any more. He thought to himself, I am young & strong I can swim across this lake and be with the girl I love forever. He jumped in the lake and started swimming and about midway he realized the lake was too big and he wasn’t ever going to make it. With his last bit of strength & energy he raised up out of the water and cried out his love one last time and then sunk beneath the water and drowned. After his burial his tribe decided to dedicate the lake to him by naming it after his decision of trying to swim the lake. They named it Lake Stupid… I have spent my fair share of time swimming in Lake Stupid and hanging out on the beaches.. I thank God today that He was my Lifeguard when I was drowning in Lake Stupid. He sent His Son instead. He pulled me from the lakes shackles and saved me.

GOD IS WITH YOU.. Those four words are like a safety net, protecting you from falling into despair. You are human, you are always going to have ups and downs in your life experiences. But the promise of God’s Presence limits how far down you will go. Sometimes you may feel as if you are in a free fall, when people or things you have counted on let you down. Yet as soon as you remember that God is with you, your perspective changes radically. Instead of bemoaning your circumstances, you can look to Him for help. Remember that He is not only with you, He is holding you by your right hand. He will guide you with His counsel, and afterward He will take you into Glory. This is exactly the perspective you need: the reassurance of God’s Presence, and the glorious hope of heaven.

“Yet I am always with you; you hold me by my right hand. You guide me with your counsel, and afterward you will take me into glory. Whom have I in heaven but you? And earth has nothing I desire besides you. My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.” (Psalm 73:23-26)


My CHALLENGE PRAYER for YOU…. If you’re in the middle of Lake Stupid treading water or hanging out on the beaches turn to God and allow Him to save you.. He is your only answer.

I hope you all have a GREAT day… Blessings & much love….D

Live YOUR life like it’s your LAST 24!!!

#last24

#wpbc

#eternalmission

#itslife

Leave a Reply

