Life is More than a Catch

Good Morning my friends,

Yesterday morning I woke-up only to discover that I still have cancer. I woke up and still had to drive to MD Andersen in Houston to receive my first of three treatments of chemo this week. This despite Dez Bryant’s catch being over-turned. After witnessing the reaction on social media Sunday afternoon & night in regards to the “non-catch”, I decided to thank God for allowing me to have this cancer instead of one of those people. I say that not because I’m special but only because if a person has a hard time accepting a call in a trivial football game that has no implications on their life whatsoever, then they’re darn sure no going to be able to handle waking up every morning and facing life with cancer.

It’s not that I’m not a football fan because in all honesty there’s probably not a bigger fan of the game than myself. Growing up in Texas it’s something you learn to love at a very young age. I totally understand and respect the passion but when it’s all said & done it has no impact on your life. I’m no saint, in fact I threw a flat hissy fit 3 weeks ago when my Baylor Bears blew a three touchdown lead and loss to Michigan State.

I would just love to see that many people put as much passion in serving God and spreading Jesus’ message as they do their favorite team. I’m not saying give up on sports. I have and support my favorite teams with passion. I’m not even close to where I want to be in this area. I’m slowly learning to place different levels of importance on things/events but I hope my passion for my Lord Jesus is conveyed from a much deeper place in my heart than any sports organization.

“Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.” (‭Romans‬ ‭12‬:‭2‬)


MY CHALLENGE PRAYER for YOU!!! Let your passions for the Lord run deeper than your sports team.

I pray that YOU have a TERRIFIC day. Blessings & much love…. D

Live YOUR life like it’s your LAST 24!!!

#last24

#wpbc

#eternalmission

#itslife

One thought on “Life is More than a Catch

Leave a Reply

