A Sealed Bargain

Good Morning my friends,

A hand shake and a smile doesn’t mean much any longer. I remember as young boy my dad would introduce me to a friend or a colleague of his whom I had never met and as I shook their hand I would hear my dad’s voice in my mind saying, “always shake a man’s hand firmly and look him in the eyes.” I would instantly puff up my chest look them in their eyes and squeeze as hard as I could. There’s just something special about looking a new friend in the eyes with a firm grasp from a hand-shake. In my mind it represents an acknowledgement of mutual respect.. My dad would always tell me, “if a man can’t give you a firm hand-shake and look you in the eyes then you don’t any need to being doing any business with him.” Life use to be so simple. A hand-shake was like something signed with your own blood. Now-a-days while shaking someone’s hand you have to make sure the other one is not stabbing you in the back. If you know me at all my hand-shake and my word are equal… If I tell you I will do something then you can take it to the bank.. I was raised that a man should always keep his word because if he has nothing else in the world he will still have his word.. I’m particular with whom I conduct business with because integrity is a must when it comes to someone’s character and it starts with a firm hand-shake and looking me in the eyes.
When Jesus went to the cross, He looked every sinner in their eyes, shook their hand firmly and by doing so said you can take it to the bank.

“The eye is the lamp of the body; so then if your eye is clear, your whole body will be full of light.” (Matthew 6:22)


As we trust in Christ, God gives us the Spirit as a pledge or, as some translations read, an earnest guarantee. “He…put his a Spirit in our hearts as a deposit, guaranteeing what is to come.”
In the apostle Paul’s day, a deposit or pledge did three things: it was a down payment that sealed a bargain, it represented an obligation to buy, and it was a sample of what was to come.
As an illustration, suppose you decided to make a down payment on a new car. What does your deposit represent? First, it seals the transaction, from now on, both you and the seller are committed yourself to pay the rest of the purchase price. Finally, it enables you to take possession of the car right now even though it still belongs to the bank.
In the same way, the Holy Spirit in our hearts is God’s pledge or deposit to us-sealing His commitment to save us, guaranteeing that someday our salvation will be complete, and enabling us to experience it’s joys right now.

“Now it is God who makes both us and you stand firm in Christ. He anointed us, set his seal of ownership on us, and put his Spirit in our hearts as a deposit, guaranteeing what is to come.” (‭2 Corinthians‬ ‭1‬:‭21-22‬)

MY CHALLENGE PRAYER for YOU!!! Let your words and your handshake make your deposit.

I pray that you have a TREMENDOUS day.. Blessings and much love… D

Live YOUR life like it’s YOUR LAST 24!!!

#last24

#asealedbargain

Leave a Reply

