Using Your Skills

Good Morning my friends,

One of the things my dad taught me that I’ve tried to teach my boys is that no matter what role you’re playing you should always try to be the best. When I was a kid, I started working with my dad in construction during the Summer. Of course me being 10 there wasn’t much I could do besides sweeping, cleaning up, hauling lumber etc..etc.. But everyday I did my best to make my dad’s job site the cleanest anyone had ever been on. As I got older each Summer my skills & responsibilities increased and I was able to help around the job site more than just cleaning up. It wasn’t but a couple Summers later that I was helping with forms, tying rebar, dragging concrete, etc..etc.. The things I learned during those Summers were much more than skills to perform a job or duty. The lessons in life that I learned were even greater. I learned that although there was great reward in the construction trade with a beautiful finished product and a claim that I helped build that but even greater was the sweat from the brow from working hard out in the Texas heat. It was a lesson that I would never forget. You can work hard out in the Texas heat or you can choose to develop other skills and do something less physically demanding. Either way, I was always going to try to be the best at whatever I did just because that’s how I was taught. Today as I wake up, it is my goal to be the best disciple I can possibly be, the best husband, father, son, brother, patient (I’m under the care of nurse Keri) and as I write this post this morning, I write with the attempt to bring you the best message of hope that will help make your life and my life better than yesterday.

I’m sure most of us forget that for most of His life Jesus was a carpenter, working with His hands among His neighbors in the town of Nazareth. “Isn’t this the carpenter?” some of His critics asked scornfully, implying that no mere carpenter could possibly be the promised Messiah (Mark 6:3)
Do you tend to downplay the work you do? “I’m only a housewife.” “I’m just a plumber.” “I simply teach school.” “I’m merely a clerk in a grocery store.” “I make my living as an accountant.” If God gave you that skill and you are where He wants you to be, then your work is valuable and significant in His sight.
Here’s another thought for you to ponder. What kind of carpenter do you suppose Jesus was? Did the doors fall off His cabinets? Do you suppose He took shortcuts or did He do just barely enough to get by? No, of course not. The Bible says, “Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for The Lord, not for men” (Colossians 3:23). And we can be sure Jesus did exactly that.

“So Bezalel, Oholiab and every skilled person to whom the Lord has given skill and ability to know how to carry out all the work of constructing the sanctuary are to do the work just as the Lord has commanded.” Exodus 36:1

My CHALLENGE Prayer for YOU… Be the best you can be in whatever you choose to do EVERYDAY..

I hope you all have WONDERFUL day… Blessings and much love….D

Live YOUR life like it’s your LAST 24!!!

#last24

#usingyourskills

One thought on “Using Your Skills

  1. What a statement Dino. What a great reminder to us all. Thanks my friend. That is a great pick me up. You are always in my prayers.

Leave a Reply

