Just A Fan

Good Morning my friends,

There’s been a lot of people tell me that during my battle with cancer that God is giving me a testimony. I don’t mind gaining the testimony, I just wish it would come without all of the nausea. Heck I don’t even mind throwing up but the nausea feeling is brutal at times. With all the talk about testimony, I began thinking about my testimony and when it began. My journey began when I was a toddler. I can remember going to church with my mom & grand parents. I don’t remember much besides the preacher being loud, it being hot and sitting there for what seemed like an eternity. I do remember where the church was and that by the time it was over I was hungry. I remember as I got a little older, riding the church bus with my sister and the other neighborhood kids to Glenview Baptist and to North Park Baptist Church.
My actual walk with Christ, however began in April 79 at Beacon Baptist Church in Haltom City. I walked the aisle, made my profession and went on with my life. As a teenager, I always felt that something was missing in my life, I just didn’t know what. Keri & I got married in August 91 and started attending Southcliff Baptist Church shortly afterwards. It was during this time that I felt that God was calling me into the ministry. Like Jonah, I fled from God’s calling. Keri & I continued attending church throughout our marriage and I continued professing my faith but deep down inside there was always something missing. I did as most people do in our society. I attended church on a weekly basis but lived like hell as soon as I walked out the doors. I drank & cursed like a sailor, I did drugs and I dishonored my wife & kids. I played games with satan almost daily. I didn’t worry about what I did during the week because I had my profession of faith in my pocket and I was doing like many do everyday. Using it as my GET OUT OF HELL FREE card.
I ran from God for almost 20 years playing a game of cat and mouse with Him & satan. God finally said enough!! He did to me the same as He did with Jonah. He said, I’ve given you every opportunity to submit to My Will but yet you have chosen to do things your way. In Aril 2011, I started playing another game which eventually delivered me to the belly of my very own whale. As I watched my life spiral out of control, God continued to provide me with plenty of opportunities to exit from its belly but instead I chose to make one poor decision after another. Despite the pain that I had brought into my marriage, Keri NEVER gave up. She continued praying and telling me that she wasn’t giving up and that I would be the one that had to give up.

“The Lord makes firm the steps of the one who delights in him; though he may stumble, he will not fall, for the Lord upholds him with his hand.” (Psalm 37:23-24)


During this struggle, we had starting attending church at Willow Park Baptist Church and little did I know that the whole church was praying to restore my marriage. As God did with Jonah, He did the same for me. He had plan. God knew that in order for me to surrender to Him, I was going to have to be delivered from the pits of hell. I’ve always believed that God only calls the equipped. That couldn’t be any further from the truth. God instead, equips the called. Through His Grace, He delivered me from the belly of my whale to the place I needed to be and to where I am today. On November 13th 2011, Pastor Bosher delivered a message that changed my life forever. During his sermon he talked about people being a professor of faith rather than possessor of faith. He made the analogy of knowing your favorite athletes stats. He said that a fan can talk about how many touchdowns their favorite player scores or home runs they hit all day but that doesn’t mean that we know them. We are a fan.. Being a fan of Jesus is a profession of knowledge only. To make it to heaven we must have a possession of faith. Possession of faith means that your daily life coincides with your profession. It means you walk, your talk. I accepted Christ as my personal Savior that morning and became a possessor of faith. I now walk with God along the path that He has chosen for me. Once I decided to live close to Him, I became a delight to His heart. God could’ve instantly granted me the spiritual riches that I desired but that wasn’t His way for me. Together we will forge a pathway up the highest mountains. The journey might be arduous at times, I might feel weak and nauseated but someday I will dance light-footed on the high peaks with God. God just wanted me to be willing to take a step and then take the next step. He wanted me to cling to His hand for strength and direction and not try to do it own my own . Although my path maybe difficult and the scenery dull at times, I know that some day there will be a sparkling surprise just around the bend. I will stay on my path that God has selected for me. It is truly the path of Life.

“You make known to me the path of life; you will fill me with joy in your presence, with eternal pleasures at your right hand.” (Psalm 16:11)

MY CHALLENGE PRAYER FOR YOU.. Don’t be just a fan.. Possess your faith.

I hope you have a WONDERFUL day… Blessing & much love…D

Live your life like it’s your LAST 24!!!

#last24 #justafan

Leave a Reply

