Come As You Are

Good Morning my friends,

Last night at the evening service at church. I was listening to the praise & worship team play. As I was listening to them play through the songs I started paying extra close attention to the lyrics. I they started playing David Crowder’s “Come As You Are”. I’ve heard this song many times, in fact I know the lyrics enough to sing along with the song. Although I can sing along with the song, I’ve never paid that close attention to the lyrics. As I listened to the lyrics, I began to think about all the people that are lost in this world and then about myself when I was the same way. Some of the words in the song include sadness, broken hearted, burdens, hurt & shame. I remember those feelings of brokenness & shame, but no matter how broken or shameful I felt God wanted me to come. He accepted me along with all my brokenness, shame, sadness, & burdens. He rescued me from a life of guilt & despair. I wasn’t too far gone. He gave me hope and rest. He allowed me to lay all those things at the foot of the cross..

“Taste and see that the Lord is good; blessed is the one who takes refuge in him.” (Psalm 34:8)


This morning, I’m on my way down to Houston for an appointment with an oncologist at MD Andersen. Thinking about the lyrics from Come As You Are, I would hate to be facing this journey and not have a relationship with God. I’m able to start this journey with confidence because I can go to God with this burden and lay it at the foot of cross. He opens His arms and shouts to me to Come as You Are..

Come out of sadness
From wherever you’ve been
Come broken hearted
Let rescue begin
Come find your mercy
Oh sinner come kneel
Earth has no sorrow
That heaven can’t heal
Earth has no sorrow
That heaven can’t heal
So lay down your burdens
Lay down your shame
All who are broken
Lift up your face
Oh wanderer come home
You’re not too far
So lay down your hurt
Lay down your heart
Come as you are
There’s hope for the hopeless
And all those who’ve strayed
Come sit at the table
Come taste the grace
There’s rest for the weary
Rest that endures
Earth has no sorrow
That heaven can’t cure
So lay down your burdens
Lay down your shame
All who are broken
Lift up your face
Oh wanderer come home
You’re not too far
So lay down your hurt
Lay down your heart
Come as you are
Come as you are
Fall in his arms
Come as you are
There’s joy for the morning
Oh sinner be still
Earth has no sorrow
That heaven can’t heal
Earth has no sorrow
That heaven can’t heal
So lay down your burdens
Lay down your shame
All who are broken
Lift up your face
Oh wanderer come home
You’re not too far
So lay down your hurt
Lay down your heart
Come as you are
Come as you are
Come as you are

I want to taste and see God. God invites us to experience His living Presence. He promises us that the more we experience Him, the more convinced we will become of His goodness. Having this knowledge is essential to our walk in faith. When adversity strikes, the human instinct is to doubt God’s goodness. God’s ways are mysterious, even to those who know Him intimately. As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are His ways and thoughts higher than your ways and thoughts. Do not try to understand God’s ways, but instead spend time enjoying Him and experiencing His goodness.

“For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,” declares The Lord “As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.” (Isaiah 55:8-9)

MY CHALLENGE PRAYER for YOU.. Taste the goodness of God!!!

I hope you have a MAGNIFICENT day… Blessing & much love…D

Live your life like it’s your LAST 24!!!

#last24 #comeasyouare

One thought on “Come As You Are

Leave a Reply

