Silence is Not Always Golden

Good morning my friends,

I’m almost certain that most people whom know my wife Keri would never believe that she hates silence. When I married her 23 years ago, I knew that I had a special woman on my hands but it took me 20+ years to realize just how special.. I constantly see & hear my friends post about their crazy wife or girlfriend. I have to admit that Keri has a crazy side and well she’s very emotional too.. But her crazy & emotional ways are different than those that I see my friends post & talk about. I guess you say that we all have a little craziness and an emotional side but it’s how we react to those feelings that sets us apart. Keri’s crazy and emotional ways are way different than mine. How she reacts to those feelings are different too. I tend deal with and approach things differently than she does.. When I feel myself getting emotional or crazy, I have a tendency to seek silence.. She likes to talk things out.. While I retreat into my shell like a turtle and try to think my way through what’s on my mind. She seeks comfort through confiding and knowing that I’m going to be there and that I’m not going to abandon her.. You see when I seek my silent refuge and become a recluse, ALL of her biggest fears come racing to the surface. That is the silence she hates. Keri is head over heels “CRAZY” in love with me and she shows it with her emotions. She loves like no other.. It’s hard for me to put into words what I mean. She’s just different… She’s a very simple girl. She loves and appreciates the simple things that money could never buy. The things that require the least amount of effort mean the most to her.. She loves that we pray together.. She loves that I’m willing to invest time in our marriage by doing a bible study with her or that I like going to marriage retreats or that I’m willing to read books about marriage & relationships. She loves that I will sit for hours and watch PIXL or the Hallmark channel with her and never complain.. I do sometimes mention the cheesy acting but that about it.. I guess the best way to put it is that she loves to feel connected to me..

I wait for the Lord, my whole being waits, and in his word I put my hope. (Psalm 130:5)

Our relationship with God is different than marriage. When we seek God, we need a buffer zone of silence. We need to be surrounded by quietness so that we’re able to focus on things which are unseen. When we approach God in stillness and in trust, He strengthens us. Since we’re unable to see God, we must always remember to not let our senses distract us or dominate our thinking. The world we live in likes to overstimulation our senses, which in turn blocks out our awareness of the unseen world. The tangible world still reflects God’s Glory, to those who have eyes that see and ears that hear.. Spending time alone with God is the best way to develop seeing eyes and hearing ears. The goal is to become aware of unseen things even as you live out your life in the visible world.

“So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen, since what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.” (2 Corinthians 4:18)

MY CHALLENGE PRAYER for YOU…. Trust in the stillness and allow Him to strengthen you.

I hope you have a TREMENDOUS day…

Live your life like it’s your LAST 24!!!

Blessing & much love….D

#last24

#silenceisnotgolden

Leave a Reply

