Embrace Your Struggles & Trust God

Good Morning my friends,

Make friends with your problems in your life. That sure sounds positive and all but I’m thinking that’s a lot easier said than done.. Many times things feel random and wrong but we must remember that God is sovereign over ALL things.. Yes, even our problems. God is capable of fitting everything into a pattern for good, but only to the extent that you trust Him. All problems can teach you something.. I know perhaps you don’t feel like learning anything today.. Problems have a way of transforming you little by little into the masterpiece that God envisioned you to be. I know what you’re thinking because I’ve thought the same thing several times myself, I wish He would hurry and get finished with His masterpiece. Don’t let your problems can become a stumbling block over which you fall. When you react to your problems with distrust and defiance this will throw you on a downward spiral and before you know it you with be at the bottom of a pit.. The choice is clearly up to you. You have to choose many times over each day whether to trust God or defy Him.
The best way to befriend your problems is to thank God for them. This simple act opens your mind to the possibility of benefits flowing from your difficulties. You can even give persistent problems nicknames, helping you to approach them with familiarity rather than with dread. The next step is to introduce your problems to God. Allowing God to embrace your problems in His loving Presence will lift the burden from your should which in turn will give you peace and rest. God will not necessarily remove your problems, but His wisdom is sufficient to bring good out of every one of them.

“And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.” (‭Romans 8:28)


The Sunday prior to Mother’s Day, me, Keri & my nephew Chris pulled an all-nighter. We worked from 7:30 pm until 4:30 pm on Monday so we would be ready for our busiest delivery day of the week.. I guess I over did it because since then my left leg has been having problems with swelling.. In fact, I haven’t been able to get it under control since that day. My doctor referred my to a Physical Therapist in Bedford so I started Lymphedema therapy 4 weeks ago. My insurance even approved me to have a machine at my house that replicates the Lymphedema massage. After my surgery in August 2013 when they removed most of the lymph nodes in my groin & upper left thigh I was faced with the realization early on that I was going to have to wear compression undergarments & socks in order to keep my swelling under control. Yes, I’ve been wearing the same black knee high socks that you see old men wearing. In all honesty after battling cancer twice the least of my concerns are whether or not I look fashionable.. I’ve wore them in public and with shorts. I just don’t care what anyone thinks. There are more important things in life than to be fashionable. After my leg increased in size and never went back down in May, I bought a full leg compression that went from my hip down to my toes. It brought a little relief but once I started PT it improved even more.
Last Friday however I took a turn for the worse. After working a full day (no change to my routine) when I got home my leg had practically exploded in size from the knee up.. In fact it was so filled & heavy that it was difficult to bend let alone lift. Walking was a chore and the pain was excruciating.. I tell you this only because there have been moments when I have began to feel overwhelmed. I have wondered if this would ever end or am I going to have to live with this for the remainder of my life. I’ve had moments when I began my own pity party because here I am almost 46 years old and at the moment I can’t even fully dress myself.. I’m so lucky that have Keri. She massages my leg for hours so it will loosen up and flow easier. She makes sure I’m comfortable wherever I am situated She serves and waits on me endlessly with a smile on her face. She has embodied our goes in sickness and in health. When I get down she reminds me that God is in control and we will embrace my struggles together, find the good and trust Him. But we will not have a pity party and defy Him. We are choosing to trust Him..

“But we preach Christ crucified: a stumbling block to Jews and foolishness to Gentiles, but to those whom God has called, both Jews and Greeks, Christ the power of God and the wisdom of God.” (1 Corinthians 1:23-24)

My CHALLENGE prayer for you…. Embrace your struggles & trust God..

I hope you all have a WONDERFUL day… Blessings & much love…D

Live YOUR life like it’s your LAST 24!!

#last24

One thought on “Embrace Your Struggles & Trust God

Leave a Reply

