Life is A Lot Like Golf

Good Morning my friends,

Have you ever felt like quitting? Screaming that LIFE IS TOO HARD!! Life has a way of kicking you in the teeth.. It can really beat you up.. It can knock you down.. It can twist you into knots but it can not defeat you unless you allow it… I’ve had some major valleys in my life where I’ve been bruised & battered.. Some that made me want to just freakin quit. But it seems that life has a way of making me come back for more… Life is similar to my golf game. The minute I want to give up and throw my clubs away is when I will hit the perfect golf shot which makes me want to come back for more.. Life is a lot like playing golf. There are times when it’s difficult to get off the tee box.. There are times when you’re lost in the woods, buried in a sand trap or swimming in the hazard… There are times when you’re just in the rough, but it’s those times in life when you hit the perfect drive and you land in the perfect spot in the middle of the fairway, have that beautiful chip on to the green, or that amazing long putt that keeps you coming back.. I have found the key to life is having a short memory with the shots that you don’t like but cherish the unforgettable ones that take your breath away…

“Nevertheless I am continually with thee: thou hast holden me by my right hand.” (Psalm 73:23)


Keep your eyes on God! When waves of adversity wash over you, you will feel tempted to give up. Allowing your circumstances to consume more and more of your attention means that you lose sight of God.. He is always with you and fully aware of your situation.. He is holding you by your hand and will not allow you to be tempted beyond what you’re able to bear. Worrying about tomorrow is your most gravest danger. When you try to carry tomorrow’s burdens today, you stagger under the load and will eventually fall flat. You must discipline yourself to live within the boundaries for today. It is the present moment that God walks closest to you, helping you carry your burdens. Keep your focus on His Presence in the present..
I believe that quitting is the easiest way out… It’s so easy to just throw your hands up in the air and just give up.. One day Keri & I were sitting amongst a group of people (probably 60-70 mostly married couples with kids) and we got on the subject of life difficulties. One guy (single) spoke up and pretty much slapped everyone person there in the face when he said that he knew what it was like to struggle because he had recently taken on the responsibility of raising his two kids that were in high school. It took me a minute to comprehend exactly what he said and by the time it sunk in we had moved on in the discussion to something else so I never really got to say what I wanted to say. Keri & I talked about it a little later and we thought about all the people that was there that had taken on the same responsibility as him but from the birth of their children not when they were 15… The more I thought about what he said the more ticked off I became but of course Keri calmed me down and told me to let it go.. I brought that up only because he had quit on his kids previously and chose to live a drug induced life instead of taking on the responsibility of raising his kids..

“There hath no temptation taken you but such as is common to man: but God is faithful, who will not suffer you to be tempted above that ye are able; but will with the temptation also make a way to escape, that ye may be able to bear it.” (1 Corinthians 10:13)

My CHALLENGE prayer for YOU…. Remember your great shots today and don’t worry about how you’re gonna play tomorrow.

I hope you all have a WONDERFUL day… Blessings & much love…D

Live your life like it’s your LAST 24!!

#last24

One thought on “Life is A Lot Like Golf

Leave a Reply

