You Are Enough

Good Morning my friends,

Tool guitarist Adam Jones once stated, “I’m my own worst critic and I think everyone in the band is a perfectionist. ” I can relate to this quote. I have written often about my quest for perfection. My drive for being the best at everything I do. I always tried to be the man that all women wish they had married, the dad that all kids wanted, the son that every parent wish they had, the brother all siblings needed, the best uncle, the best friend, the best employee, the best boss, the best neighbor, the best sales rep, the best …..the best…. the best… I didn’t necessarily compare myself to others but I set a standard so that I could judge and evaluate myself. A standard that I could never reach..

“Do not judge, and you will not be judged. Do not condemn, and you will not be condemned. Forgive, and you will be forgiven.” (Luke 6:37)


I’ve learned slowly to STOP judging and evaluating myself and so should you. It’s not your role nor societies role to compare you with other people. God made each of us with unique characteristics. Judging and comparing ourselves to others produces feelings of pride or inferiority; sometimes, a mixture of both. God leads each of His children along a path that is uniquely tailor made for them. Comparing is not only wrong, it’s meaningless. Don’t look for affirmation in the wrong places which are from within or from other people. The only source of real affirmation is God’s unconditional Love. Many believers perceive God as an unpleasable Judge, angrily searching out their faults and failures. Nothing could be farther from the truth! Jesus died for our sins, so that He might clothe you in His garments of salvation. God sees you in His radiant robe of righteousness. When He disciplines you, it’s never in anger or disgust; it’s to prepare you with face to Face fellowship with Him throughout eternity. Immerse yourself in God’s loving Presence. Be receptive to His affirmation, which flows continually from the throne of grace.

“I delight greatly in the Lord ; my soul rejoices in my God. For he has clothed me with garments of salvation and arrayed me in a robe of his righteousness, as a bridegroom adorns his head like a priest, and as a bride adorns herself with her jewels.”(Isaiah 61-10)


Looking back I can understand that I was searching for affirmation from the world. I finally realized that I have the greatest affirmation that any man could ever want or need. I have a God that gave His son for me. I have a Savior that died for me.. If that already isn’t enough.. I have a wife that loves me more than I could ever deserve. I have two boys that cherish me.. I have a mom, dad, sister, brother-in-law, nephew, & nieces that think I’m the bomb-dig-gitty and that is more than enough. I can still strive to be the best but when I fail I don’t have to dwell on it..

“My son, do not despise the Lord ’s discipline, and do not resent his rebuke, because the Lord disciplines those he loves, as a father the son he delights in. ” (Proverbs 3:11-12)


My CHALLENGE PRAYER FOR YOU…. Don’t judge, evaluate or compare yourself to others, God believes you were worth giving His son for and Jesus thought you were worth dying.

I hope you all have a TREMENDOUS day… Blessings & much love…D

Live your life like it’s your LAST 24!!

#last24

One thought on “You Are Enough

Leave a Reply

