It’s All in Your Tone, Attitude & Delivery

Good Morning my friends

Have you ever heard the way you speak to people? Do the people you speak to hear the same message that you’re trying to convey? Keri told me for 20+ years that I talk down to her. I wasn’t intentionally talking down to her so she had to be wrong.. She must have been wearing her feelings on her sleeve those times. At least that’s what I thought.
A couple of years ago after attending a marriage retreat about communication, I decided that I would start listening to the way I talk to Keri so I could see if what she had been saying all these years was true.. I didn’t make it through half the morning before I was slapped in the face with the cold reality that she was right.. I spoke to the woman that I love most like she was beneath me, as if she was not as smart as me. I couldn’t understand why I was using that type of condescending tone? It really wasn’t my intention but I remembered the old saying, “the highway to hell will be paved with good intentions. ”

 

“Jesus said, For by your words you will be acquitted, and by your words you will be condemned.” (‭Matthew‬ ‭12‬:‭37‬)

 

I decided at that moment to really start paying attention to my tone and delivery when I’m speaking to her because if she was hearing it that way and I heard it too then so were my boys and the last thing I want is for my boys to believe is that it’s ok to talk to their wives the same way. This was very disrespectful towards the woman that God blessed me to have in my life. I wish I could say that I haven’t used that type of tone and delivery since but I would be lying. There has been a few occasions that I failed miserably but I’ve learned to recognize and then apologize. Marriage is difficult enough without all the extra little things that pick & poke at you. If can eliminate all the little things, then perhaps the big things will shrink.
I’ve been married for almost 23 years, it’s my goal for our years to get better & better. I don’t want to just coexist together. I want to build a bond that is inseparable. To have a marriage like that it takes a team effort and it takes an investment of more than just time together. It takes continual courtship and a willingness to invest in your marriage. If your marriage is sacred then you should be willing to invest in it by purchasing books on relationships and then reading them together and attending marriage retreats & seminars… There are golden nuggets that can be taken away from these things that can and will either change your marriage or take it to the next level..

 

“Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.” (‭Ephesians‬ ‭4‬:‭29‬ )

 

My CHALLENGE PRAYER for you… Listen to your tone & delivery and adjust..

I hope you all have a MAGNIFICENT day… Blessings & much love….D

Live you life like it’s your LAST 24!!

#last24

One thought on “It’s All in Your Tone, Attitude & Delivery

Leave a Reply

