Dependence Should Never End

It’s Friday but SUNDAY’S COMING

Good Morning my friends,

Are you dependent or independent? I’ve always been independent. In fact, when I moved out of my parents house for the first time, I vowed to never HAVE to move back. I did this not because it was bad there but because I wanted to prove to the world and myself of my independence… For the record, I never HAD to go back.
My oldest son Zakk moves in his first apartment in August down in College Station. Keri & I are excited for him on one hand but on the other we’ve been dreading this moment. We pray daily that when the time has come that both Zakk & Mick are prepared for the road. You see when raising kids parent can either prepare their kid for the road or prepare the road for the kid. Our societies appears to have created a generation of the latter.. The latter brings nothing but irresponsibility and non-ownership.
Zakk has been Mr. Independent since before he started Pre-K. In many ways he’s much more mature & independent than I was at this same point in our lives however in less significant ways he’s still seems to be our little boy. As I think back about the times that we shared together I can’t help but wonder if those days are coming to a close. Yes, I know he will still depend on us to support him financially until he finishes school but I’m afraid that the days of us just sitting around this house chillin are coming to an end. The thought of my independent son no longer needing me or his mom makes me proud but hurts my heart. It seems like only yesterday when he was coming into this world and was completely dependent on us. Where has the time gone??

“Pray continually,” (1 Thessalonians 5:17)


I’m learning that I need God in EVERY moment of my life. When I became aware that I was in constant need for God, it became my greatest strength. When I finally realized this neediness, it became my direct link to His Presence. There are pitfalls that I must guard myself against such as self pity, self-preoccupation & giving up. My inadequacy presents me with but two options. I can either have deep dependence upon God or I can fall into despair. The emptiness that I feel at times on the inside can either be filled with problems or with God’s Presence. It’s my decision. I can elect to make God the center of my consciousness by praying continually. Short simple prayers calling out for His Presence in stills my dependence upon Him. As long as I’m willing to continue to ask, God will make sure that I will receive, so that my happiness may be full and complete.
As parents the dependence that we seek from our kids is the same that God seeks from us as adults. God wants us to be childlike in our faith. Which means that of a small child like when they’re most dependent upon their parents, not as a teenager or young adult when they are seeking to establish their own identity or themselves in the world. It’s during times like these that I’ve learned to be even more dependent upon God. It’s times like these that I’ve learn that I need Him more than ever..

“Until now you have not asked for anything in my name. Ask and you will receive, and your joy will be complete.” (John 16:24)


My CHALLENGE prayer for you… Become more dependent on God and less..

I hope you all have a FABULOUS day… Blessings & much love….D

Live your life like it’s your LAST 24!

#last24

Leave a Reply

