Prayer, Distractions & Sleep

Good Morning my friends,

“But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.”(2 Corinthians 12:9)


I cherish my prayer time but fail at it miserably. I let the hustle & bustle of my life get in my way and I’m the only one to blame.. I’ve always viewed my alone time with God not only as my time to thank Him for my many blessings but as an opportunity to grow my Christian walk as well…

Do you ever pray and get distracted?

Perhaps the phone rings, you here a noise, kids come in & start talking to you, or maybe you just plain fall asleep.

I’m guilty of getting distracted & falling asleep sometimes…

Ok I will be honest.. It happens often.. Here I am, a sinner asking for forgiveness and I can’t even pay attention or stay awake long enough to finish my prayer.

Peter, James & John fell asleep in the Garden of Gethsemane despite Jesus saying to them, “My soul is overwhelmed with sorrow to the point of death. Stay here and keep watch with me.” (Matthew 26:38) Jesus fell with his face to the ground and prayed, “My Father, if it is possible, may this cup be taken from me. Yet not as I will, but as you will.”
Then he returned to his disciples and found them sleeping again. “Couldn’t you men keep watch with me for one hour?” (Matthew 26:39-40) Jesus then said to Peter, “Watch and pray so that you will not fall into temptation. The spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak.” (Matthew 26:41) The Bible tells us in Matthew 26:42-46, “He went away a second time and prayed, “My Father, if it’s not possible for this cup to be taken away unless I drink it, may your will be done.” When he came back, he again found them sleeping, because their eyes were heavy. So he left them and went away once more and prayed the third time, saying the same thing. Then he returned to the disciples and said to them, “Are you still sleeping and resting? Look, the hour has come, and the Son of Man is delivered into the hands of sinners. Rise! Let us go! Here comes my betrayer!”

“Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the Lord your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.” (Deuteronomy 31:6)


Is God disappointed when I can’t remained focused or stay wake? I don’t think so. God knows where my heart lies and He knows that I’m going to fall short even before it happens.. He knows this and that’s why He sent His son Jesus to be crucified. He did it for me.. He did it for you.. So if you get distracted or fall asleep return immediately back to God and pick up where you left off.. He is a forgiving God!!! But never abandon, blame or give up on Him…

“Rather, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight.” (1 Peter 3:4)


It’s ok to be human.. When your mind wanders while you’re praying, don’t be surprised or upset. Simply return your attention to God ASAP.. Share a secret smile with Him, knowing that He understands. Rejoice in His love for you, which has no limits or conditions. Whisper His Name in loving contentment, assured that He will never leave you or forsake you. When you scatter these peaceful moments throughout your day and you will be blessed with a tranquil spirit, which is pleasing to God. As you live in close contact with Him, the Light of His Presence will filter through you and bless others. Your weaknesses are the openings through which the Light of the knowledge of His Glory shines forth. His strength and power will shine most effective in your weakness.

“For God, who said, “Let light shine out of darkness,” made his light shine in our hearts to give us the light of the knowledge of God’s glory displayed in the face of Christ. But we have this treasure in jars of clay to show that this all-surpassing power is from God and not from us.” (2 Corinthians 4:6-7)

My CHALLENGE prayer for you. Don’t allow life’s distractions to derail you.. Instead REFOCUS on Him..

I hope you all have a WONDERFUL day… Blessings & much love….D

Live your life like it’s your LAST 24!!

#last24

Leave a Reply

