Are You There but Checked Out??

Good Morning my friends,

Last year Keri & I read a book by Jimmy Evans called Lifelong Love Affair. One of the things that I remember most from the book was when he wrote about how driven he was when he was younger. He wrote about how he allowed his job to take him away from his family and how he allowed it to occupy his time. He told us about how the many times while his family was eating dinner together how he would be taken away during this valuable time by a phone call. As I read his words, I couldn’t help but think that I was reading about many times in my life with my wife and kids. It was as if I was his mirror image. He talked about after his kids got older and had grandkids that one day his granddaughters came to visit. He received and took a call from a friend that was having problems. After he hung up from his friend, his mind was occupied with the thoughts of his friend and his problem. As the day progressed his daughter ask him where he was and he told I’m here and she told him, “NO DAD YOU’RE CHECKED OUT”. She then told him that she had experienced that her whole life and she wanted something different from him with her daughters. He said those words convicted his heart..

“But I am like an olive tree flourishing in the house of God; I trust in God’s unfailing love for ever and ever.” (Palm 52:8)


How many times are you at home but you’re checked out? Your focused on something else instead of the important things.. THIS CONVICTED MY HEART… I saw myself living the same life. Jimmy decided then to stop trying to control everything in his life and cover it up by saying I’m driven to succeed. Being driven is wanting to be in control. It’s not trusting that God can handle ALL THINGS. Jimmy said that day changed his life forever. He said he prayed about turning everything over to God and trusting Him with it all. He said he cut back on his speaking engagements which meant less traveling and said he will allow God to build his ministry. He said he told his employees about the less travel and trusting God and they all were scared because this meant less money coming into his ministry and might mean they could lose their job. Jimmy said within a short time he got a call from a friend that needed him to speak that he said he offered him more money to speak than ever before and he knew then that trusting God was the going to work out just fine..
Since reading Jimmy’s book I have been learning not to CHECK OUT. My phone has been set to go on do not disturb at 6pm. My phone is left in the car when we go out to eat. I’m learning to TRUST God with those things and allow His hand to control them instead of mine. I’m striving to trust God in more and more areas of my life. The things that use to make me anxious are now viewed as an opportunity for growth. Instead of running away from challenges, I’m embracing them. I’m eager to gain all the blessings that are hidden in each difficulty. I believe that God is Sovereign over every aspect of my life, so I should be willing to trust Him in all situations in my life. I refuse to waste my energy by regretting on the way things are or thinking about what might have been. I look at each moment and accept things exactly as they are and then search for His way in the midst of those circumstances. Trust is my staff that I’ve learned to lean on during all my uphill journey’s. I trust God consistently and allow my staff to bear as much of weight as needed.

Lean on, trust, and be confident in Him with all your heart and mind.

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight.” (Proverbs 3:5-6)

My CHALLENGE prayer for you…. Don’t allow you being driven to succeed to check out on your family time but instead TRUST God with those things you want to control..

I hope you all have a TREMENDOUS day… Blessings & much love….D

Live your life like it’s your LAST 24!!

#last24

Leave a Reply

