The Up & Downs of Life are Beautiful..

It’s Friday but SUNDAY’S COMING!!!

Good Morning my friends,

Life can be full of ups & downs.. The ups are by far the greatest views but the downs can have just as much splendor if you take the time to look for it.

The ups & downs of life can be so frustrating and disappointing. When I decided to go back to school in the late Spring early Summer of 2012, I called to get my transcripts sent from the University of Maryland University College so that I could perhaps get started in the Fall. It was during that phone call to UMUC to get my transcripts that I was informed that they wouldn’t release my transcripts because I owed them $3000 from when I withdrew back in the Fall 2004. I explained that I didn’t owe them the money because I had received student loans that semester and the loans were added to my principle balance. I explained that I had sent all the documentation proving this back in 2005 and never heard another word about it… Before I got off the phone I came to the conclusion that no matter what I said, they were in complete control and I either had to pay or not get my transcripts and not go back to school.. The ball was in their court… I was frustrated that I wasn’t going to be able to start back to school until the balance was cleared.. My only option was to pay the $3000. I was disappointed but thought perhaps God knew something that I didn’t and the timing just wasn’t right. God told me to look up at the beautiful mountain that I was climbing and take in the view from where I stood because He was in control.
God will always lead you along the high road. Your path will not be straight & flat and there might be descents and ascents. There could also be a few curves & turns as well.. Your path in the distance might be covered with snow but don’t allow the frustration or disappointment to stop you, instead stop and take in the glistening peaks from the brilliant sunlight. We long to reach the peaks in life as quick as possible without taking in the beauty that surrounds our journey to the top. We should never take shortcuts to get to the top because there could possibly be a blessing or two that we miss by taking our shortcut. Our assignment is to follow God, allow Him to direct our path. It’s ok to let the heights beckon us onward, but we should always stay close and focused on Him… Learn to trust Him when things go “wrong.” Disruptions, distractions, frustrations & obstacles from your routine should highlight your dependence on Him. Trusting & the acceptance of trials brings blessings that far outweigh all of those things. Walk hand in hand with God through each day. He has lovingly planned every inch of the way. Trust does not falter when the path becomes rocky and steep. Breathe deep draughts of His Presence, and hold tightly to His hand. Together ya’ll will make it!

“For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all.” (2 Corinthians 4:17)


Little did I know that 8-10 weeks later I would be diagnosed with cancer. The $3000 seemed rather insignificant when the cancer came about but I still knew that I needed to just look around and take in the beautiful scenery that surrounded me because God was in control. My climb to the peak is a journey.. Almost two years later, I’ve been cancer free for almost 7 months. I endured 8 surgeries, 3 months of chemo & 25 treatments of radiation.
The $3000 was paid and I’ve completed three semester (25hrs) with all A’s. I guess you could say that my climb has been filled with a few disruptions, distractions, frustrations, obstacles, a few curves & turns and even some ups & downs but my journey has been beautiful. I stop daily and sometimes multiple times a day just to take in the grandeur. I have learned that although my journey is going to be filled with all of those things that will try to derail me but God is in control and I will use those things to stop, take a break, catch my breath and take in a different view. It’s the opportunity to observe something beautiful while gaining a little wisdom as I climb..

“The Sovereign Lord is my strength; he makes my feet like the feet of a deer, he enables me to tread on the heights. For the director of music. On my stringed instruments.” (Habakkuk 3:19)

My CHALLENGE prayer for you… During the downs of life take the time to look for the splendor. There’s Glory to be found in those places…

I hope you all have a FABULOUS day… Blessings & much love….D

Live your life like it’s your LAST 24!!

#last24

Leave a Reply

