Exquisite & Simple is a Great Combination

Good Morning my friends,

God’s Face is always shining upon you. His Light shines Peace that transcends all understanding. Although you’re surrounded by a sea of problems, you’re face to Face with God and your Peace. If you focus on Him, you will be safe. If you gaze too long at the myriad of problems that surround you then you will surely sink under the weight of those burdens. When you start to sink, simply call out “Help me, Jesus!” and He will lift you up. The closer you live to Him, the safer you are. The situations that surround you are daunting and treacherous. You can see them as if they’re tidal waves in the the distance. Fix your eyes on Him, the One who never changes and by the time those waves reach you, they will have shrunk to proportions of His design. He is always beside you, helping you face today’s waves. The future is a phantom, seeking to spook you. Laugh at the future! Stay close to Him.

“And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” (Philippians 4:7)

This week my family & I drove down to Corpus for my nieces wedding. Most of us stopped and ate breakfast together on Saturday morning at the world famous Blue Bonnet Cafe. It was amazing. After eating we jumped in our vehicles and made the remaining trek down to Corpus. Later that evening after the wedding rehearsal we attended the rehearsal dinner which was at the Republic of Texas Bar & Grill on the 20th floor of the Omni Hotel. To have bar & grill in its name is a bit misleading. When I hear bar & grill I think of a place like Chilis and this was leaps & bounds past Chilis (not that Chilis is bad) but this place was exquisite upscale dining. I couldn’t help but smile because my oldest son Zakk enjoyed every aspect of the dining experience where on the other hand my youngest Big Mick was not a big fan. It’s amazing how two boys raised in the same house can have such different taste. Zakk is the steak & lobster kind of guy where as Big Mick is a chicken fried steak & french fry guy. Big Mick tells us from time to time that he’s just a simple boy but Keri & I both tell Zakk that he better become an anesthesiologist so he can afford his taste in life. Exquisite and simple is a combination that I love..
We attended the beautiful beach wedding on Sunday evening and then it was off to the reception which was held at The Courtyard at Gaslight Square. What an amazing venue. It was perfect.

“But when he saw the wind, he was afraid and, beginning to sink, cried out, “Lord, save me!” (Matthew 14:30)

As I sat and thought about the previous two nights I couldn’t help but think about one of these days my boys might be doing this. Don’t get me wrong, I’m in NO HURRY for my boys to be getting married. In fact, I’m beyond happy that neither has never had a girl friend. There’s plenty of time for girls later.. I’m not certain why teenagers want to waste the best years of their lives being tied down. So far my boys have listened to my advice. Keri & I pray often for God to be preparing the right girl for both of our boys and when His time is right for Him to allow their paths to cross.. I believe my niece landed her a great guy. I know that he has placed a beautiful smile on an already beautiful person. If I could give the two newlyweds just one piece of advice that would make sure that they have a long and fruitful marriage, it would be to put & keep God at the center and they will never go wrong. There will be ups & downs but as long as God is in the center it will never be more than they can endure. The times that my marriage as struggled the most was when I was the furthest away..

“Fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith. For the joy set before him he endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.” (Hebrews 12:2)

My CHALLENGE prayer for you…. Allow Gods face shine bright on you by focusing on Him…

I hope you all have a TREMENDOUS day… Blessings & much love….D

Live you life like it’s your LAST 24!!

#last24

Leave a Reply

