A Mistake……..NOT

Good Morning my friends,

A persistent problem that plaques you or that goes on and on should be viewed as a rich opportunity for knowledge. A problem which is ongoing is like having a tutor whom is always by your side. The possibilities of learning from problems are limited only by your willingness to be teachable. Thank God for your problems. Ask Him to open your eyes and your heart to all that He is trying to accomplish through your difficulty. Once you have become grateful for a problem, it loses its power to drag you down. On the contrary, your thankful attitude will lift you up into a heavenly place with God. With this perspective, your difficulty can be seen as a slight, temporary distress that is producing for you a transcendent Glory never to cease!

I’m sure that most of you have made decisions in your past that you regret. Perhaps you’ve made some decisions that have gained a life of there own and continue to live with you daily. I know that I’ve made decisions that have continued to rear its ugly head. In the past there are times that I handled it well and there are times that I failed miserably.. We often make decisions without worrying about the consequences or the impact it will have on the people in our lives. My most loyal and biggest fan for the past 23 years has been my wife Keri. She has loved me, stood beside me, cheered for me and cared for me. I have made some really dumb decisions in our marriage that have damaged it tremendously. I never took into consideration the impact of the decisions I made, the lies that I told or the harsh words that I let fly out of my mouth. They all did their damage and broke her heart. I never thought about the fact that I was violating her trust. Because I was doing what I thought was going to make me happy. After it was all said and done, I called it a “mistake.” It’s funny how we try to lessen the impact of our sin by dumbing it down. A mistake is something you make while balancing your checkbook. A mistake is an accident. When you choose to do something wrong it’s not a mistake. IT’S A SIN!!! It’s wrong!!

“For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all.” (2 Corinthians 4:17)

Of course once a “mistake” is out in the open we expect to move forward and to pick up where things were before they went south.. I was no different.. My thoughts were that I’m here 100% now so it’s time to get back to normal.. I learned very SLOWLY that trust is hard to regain once it’s lost. I learned that there are words that I could say, things that I could do & actions that I made that triggered her fears and it would bring ALL those feelings to the surface again. I knew instantly when it happens because she gets the deer in the headlights look or her eyes will well up with tears. There are times it could be her body language that is recognized. Those are the times that my reaction means the most.. Those are the times of reassurance. A BIG hug & kiss or an I love you will calm her fears. There were times that I allowed my frustrations to get the best of me and I reacted accordingly. I tried to blame her for not be able to move forward. Those were the times that I needed to learn to be more patient, more loving, more caring & a lot more understanding. It was my decisions that made the negative impact on our marriage not hers.
I learned to thank God for allowing her feelings to resurface time after time. It has made me a more loving and caring husband. Mitt has made me more attentive to her needs. For the longest I pray for her heart to be healed and for her fears be taken away. I think perhaps I needed to ask God to open my eyes & my heart so that I could see what He was accomplishing inside of me instead of trying to fix her. I think God was telling me she doesn’t need to be fix at all. It is you that needs fixing.

“Although the Lord gives you the bread of adversity and the water of afflictions, your teachers will be hidden no more; with your own eyes you will see them. Whether you turn to the right or to the left, your ears will hear a voice behind you, saying, “This is the way; walk in it.” (Isaiah 30:20-2)

My CHALLENGE prayer for you. Thank God for your persistent problem and ask Him for insight…

I hope you all have a TREMENDOUS day… Blessings & much love….D

Live your life like it’s your LAST 24!!

#last24

Leave a Reply

