I Need You to Listen Not to Fix It

It’s Friday but SUNDAY’S COMING!!!

Good Morning my friends,

I’m sure that most of you are aware that Keri works for me. There are many evenings that she comes to me and wants to talk about her day, her frustrations and things that occurred. You’re probably wondering why she would have to do such a thing since we’re in the same building but although I see her several times a day it’s only briefly intervals when I’m walk walking through the store checking on product or making sure everything is running smoothly. Most of the time I stay pretty busy in my office.. I don’t like to park myself in one spot to long because I’ve learned that people don’t like to be micro-managed or to be watched over in every move they make. I believe that micro managing is one of the most common & biggest mistakes a manager can make with employees. I’ve found that the majority of employees thrive when they are trusted with responsibility and are made to feel that they have a voice that matters. Employees are more willing to take ownership when the are made to feel important. This has played a huge factor in the success of my store. When I first became store manager, I tried to do everything myself because I lived by the motto, “If I want something done right, then I will do it myself.” I quickly became wore out from not only that but also the added stress I placed on myself to be “The Best.” I was constantly in fix-it mode.. It never ended. Even at home when Keri would start to tell me about her day, I would immediately start planning how I was going to fix her frustrations. I did this despite her not wanting me to fix anything. She was just needing to be heard and for me to just listen..

“Martha, Martha,” the Lord answered, “you are worried and upset about many things, but few things are needed—or indeed only one. Mary has chosen what is better, and it will not be taken away from her.” (Luke 10:41-42)

Being a Mr. Fix-it is one of the biggest problems that men face in their marriage and professionally but yet it’s one of the easiest to fix. How Ironic is that? Men are all about fixing everyone else’s problems but yet we refuse to fix one of our easiest. This seems to be a common theme in this country? We try to police the world but yet we run amuck in our own society.. We try to feed the world, yet we have people starving in our own society. We try to house the world, yet we have homeless in our own society. We try to fund the world, yet we have people living in poverty in our own society. These are problems we shouldn’t be trying to fix. God will bless the people that are in need when the time is right in His eyes, not ours. Perhaps people struggle in this country because they have yet to turn to God to be their answer.

“I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will counsel you with my loving eye on you.”(Psalm 32:8)

Problems are a part of life.. They are inescapable.. They are intertwined in the fabric of this fallen world. We have a tendency to jump readily into problem-solving mode as if we have the capacity to fix everything and have the answer to all of life’s problems. This is has become such a habitual response that it automatically bypasses our conscious thinking. This habit not only frustrates you but it also distances you from God. We make fixing things our top priority. We do not have the capacity to correct all that is wrong in society, so why should you weigh yourself down with responsibility. Instead, make your relationship with God your primary concern. Talk with Him about whatever is on your mind, seek His perspective on every situation and let Him give you direction rather than trying to fix everything that comes to your attention. Ask God to show you what is truly important. Remember that you’re enroute to heaven, so let your problems fade in the Light of eternity.

“But our citizenship is in heaven. And we eagerly await a Savior from there, the Lord Jesus Christ, who, by the power that enables him to bring everything under his control, will transform our lowly bodies so that they will be like his glorious body.” (Philippians 3:20-21)

My CHALLENGE prayer for you.. Don’t be a Mr. Fix-it!! Allow God to fulfill His role..

I hope you have a FANTASTIC day… Blessings & much love….D

Live your life like its your LAST 24!!!

#last24

One thought on “I Need You to Listen Not to Fix It

Leave a Reply

