Societies Thrills & Frills Just Steal

Good Morning my friends

God’s love is an everlasting Love. A love that flows from the depths of eternity. The Bible tells us that God knew us before we were born. How do you explain or understand a Love that is so deep that it encompasses you from before your birth to beyond the grave? I think our society has lost its perspective of eternity. We allow ourselves to get distracted from the gaping jaws of death and engage ourselves in ceaseless activities for our own amusement. We have lost the art of being still in God’s Presence because we want instant gratification. It is the stillness that enables us to experience God’s eternal Love. We need the certainty of God’s loving Presence in order to weather the storms of life. It’s during these times of severe testing that even the best theology can fail us if it isn’t accompanied with the knowledge of God. The ultimate protection against sinking during life’s storms is devoting time to develop your relationship with God.

“The Lord appeared to us in the past, saying: “I have loved you with an everlasting love; I have drawn you with unfailing kindness.” (Jeremiah 31:3)

I can remember when Keri was pregnant with Zakk & Big Mick. I took the time to read to them almost every night. Keri & I would be laying on the bed and whatever book I was reading at the time, I would read to them as if they were laying right there with us. I read books like “The Book of Virtues” by Willam J Bennett, Oliver North’s “Under Fire”, Norman J Swarzkoff’s “It Doesn’t take a Hero” & Jimmy Johnson’s “Turning the Thing Around”. There were many more. I made sure that I talked to them every day. I would tell him how much I loved. I wanted them to know my voice once they were born.. To say that I was proud the day they were born is understatement. The love that I have for my boys within my heart goes beyond what any word that I could ever come up with to describe it. My love began way before Keri & I got married and has continued to grow stronger with each passing day. How could I love someone like that before I was even married? Let me explain. My love for my boys began on June 15th 1988.. That was the day my nephew Chris was born and the first time, I held him. At that moment I knew that some day I would have boys. Although Chris wasn’t mine, he has my blood running through his veins because of my sister. On that day, I assumed the role & duties of dad because I didn’t know if he would ever have the experience having a dad.. I fed him, changed his diapers, played with him. We did everything together we possibly could. I took him to the mall. I took him to McDonald’s. I bought him his first bike and taught him how to ride it. I played catch with him. I attended almost EVERY baseball game that he ever played in from T-ball thru high school. I have always treated him as if he was my son and still do to this day.
One of the things that I’ve tried to teach my boys is that in life, we often get caught up with the extra-curriculars both the good & bad. We often let the joys & thrill of the moment gather our attention. When we allow this to happen we lose focus on the fact that our eternal future is at stake. I tell them often that the choices that you make while you’re here on earth will have way more consequences in eternity than they will ever have while we are here. Eternity is forever. Our Father loves us way more than we deserve and could ever imagine and it is spelled out for us in John 3:16, “For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life. “. The Bible says WHOSOEVER.. That means me & YOU… As I think about the love I have for my boys, it fails in comparison to the Love our Father has for his children. I can’t imagine letting one of my boys die for me, let alone some ungrateful person that lives in the moment.

“Because of the Lord ’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness. I say to myself, “The Lord is my portion; therefore I will wait for him.” The Lord is good to those whose hope is in him, to the one who seeks him; it is good to wait quietly for the salvation of the Lord.” (Lamentations 3:22-26)

My CHALLENGE prayer for you. Don’t let the joy & frills of the world steal your eternal future.

I hope you all have a SUPER day… Blessings & much love….D

Live your life like its your LAST 24!!

#last24

Leave a Reply

