God’s Leash

Good Morning my friends,

So many times in my life I ask, “WHY ME”… The times when things didn’t or weren’t going my way.. The times when I saw others flourishing but yet I was left to ponder what I was doing wrong. I knew that I might not be the perfect husband, father, son, brother, employee or friend but why was this happening to me or why isn’t this happening for me?… I often said things like I don’t deserve this ….. I’m a better person than ….or…. they never seem to being going through crap like this… They’re on top of the world, why can’t…

Can you relate?

“He tends his flock like a shepherd: He gathers the lambs in his arms and carries them close to his heart; he gently leads those that have young.” (Isaiah 40:11)



Those thoughts surfaced throughout my adult life. Now when I look back on those times, I can see that it was during those difficult & trying times that I had moved further & further away from God. If you have kids, think about the times when you would take them outside to play or perhaps to a public park. You were constantly on alert watching and making sure they didn’t get to far away or out of your sight. If you were like Keri & I, you were ALWAYS saying, “come back over here”.
As an adult I’ve always been a lot like a kid.. God was always saying, “come back over here.” God knew that I was the type of person that would have the tendency to push the envelope as far as possible. He knew that I would have to be reeled back in constantly. God has always made sure that He kept me on one of those child leashes… I can hear Him now, “this one is stubborn, Jesus it’s your turn to reel him back in…the Holy Spirit is tired.” My mom will tell that when I was a little boy I would be within the grasp of her hand one second and vanish the next. I’ve heard my mom tell Keri & my boys on many occasions a particular story of when we were out shopping. I think it was me, my mom, my sister & my grandmother. They were looking at clothes… My mom had a hold of my hand like always and I managed to squirm out of her grasp and she told me to stay next to her. Of course being the little angel I was I said, ok.. She turned around for a split second to check on my sister and I vanished. The search was on.. She combed the entire store searching for me.. After searching everywhere she finally called out my name and I answered but she still could not see me. I stayed by her side in the original spot the whole time but she couldn’t see me because I had found a place to sit down in the middle of the round clothes rack or perhaps I was hiding… I honestly think I just found a place to sit but I’m pretty sure if my grandmother was still alive they would ALL say different…lol

Everyday my main priority is to let God infuse His peace within me. When I sit quietly in the Light of His Presence, I want to feel the sense of Peace growing within myself. This is not something that can be accomplished through self-discipline, will-power or a life coach. This is made possible only when we allow ourselves to receive God’s blessing.
We live in a society that promotes independence. People find it hard to admit that they can’t live life alone and that they are needy. Throughout my life, God has taken me along a path that has highlighted my need for Him. I’ve been placed in situations where my strengths were irrelevant and my weaknesses were glaring evident. It was through those arduous desert marches that I have drawn closer and closer to God. I discovered that there are flowers of Peace blooming in the most desolate places. I learned to thank God for the hard times and all of my difficult journeys. When we learn to do this, we are trusting God to accomplish His best work. Realizing that you need God is the key to knowing Him intimately, which is the ULTIMATE gift above all gifts.

I THANK God for my leash daily…

“The Lord will guide you always; he will satisfy your needs in a sun-scorched land and will strengthen your frame. You will be like a well-watered garden, like a spring whose waters never fail.” (Isaiah 58:11)


My CHALLENGE prayer for you… Thank God for your leash.. I know sometimes there will be heartache & pain.. We must remember that we are here temporary but ETERNITY is forever..

I hope you all have a WONDERFUL day…. Blessings & much love..D

Live you life like it’s your LAST 24!!

#last24

Leave a Reply

