Two Years is Not Long…

Good Morning my friends,

Rest in the Deep Assurance of God’s unfailing Love.. Let your body, mind and spirit relax in His Presence. Release your thoughts & worries to His care, so that you can focus your full attention on Him. God’s Love is wider, longer, higher and deeper than anything you can ever imagine. You will be awed by the vast dimensions of His Love. Rejoice in the fact that His marvelous Love is ours forever!!! The best response to His glorious gift thankfulness. Every time you thank God, you acknowledge that He is your Lord and Provider. Receiving with thanksgiving is the proper stance for a child of God. Bring Him the sacrifice of gratitude, and watch how much He will bless you.

I was talking with Zakk the other day and I was reminded when Keri & I took him down to visit Texas A & M University for a campus tour. He’s now a couple weeks from finishing his Freshman year and will be moving into his first apartment in August. Keri & I have watched patiently from the sidelines as our boys have grown into young men. Time has flown by since that visit.. Zakk graduated from HS and already has a year under his belt at A & M. It only seems like a few weeks since we were on that tour when in fact it has been 18 months. I couldn’t help but think that in just two short years we will be reliving those same events with Big Mick..

“Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.” (1 Peter 5:7)

The thought of those feelings & emotions crowded my mind and a huge lump gathered in my throat. As my eyes began to swell with tears, I couldn’t help but think about how much I was going to miss Big Mick. He’s so quiet & reserved but quick witted. He’s so respectful and responsible with a smile that will melt your heart. When I look at him, I don’t see him as the 6’3″ 320lbs behemoth, but instead I see him as that shy little boy that I watched play tee-ball. He has grown into a young man full of great character, integrity with high morals & values. I must admit, there have been times that I’ve wondered if he was even listening. Big Mick & I have had several conversations about the next two years.. Recently I explained to him that he has the opportunity to write his ticket now that will propel him into his next journey. He just has to make the right decisions. I told him the importance that lies in every decision that he makes over the next 2 years will effect his future. I conveyed that if he makes the right decisions now and sacrifices the time now, that he won’t have to worry about paying for his education. I told him that I know that 2 years seems like a long time but it will be gone before he knows it. I told him that every time he doesn’t feel like working out and doing that extra rep that it puts him one step closer to joining the rat race and if he ever joins the rat race he will look up one day and be 40. I reminded him that most important thing to remember is that God blessed him but it’s up to him to make use of them. I told him that if he remains focused on God, is thankful for ALL things & gives God ALL the Praise, Honor & Glory while he’s pursuing his dreams then God will bless him abundantly.
I remember walking the sidewalks of A & M, with a lump in my throat & tears in my eyes and thanking God for the lump & tears.. These next two years are going to be filled with memories that I will cherish forever. I know that I will see plenty of football games, playoff games and perhaps a State Championship or two. I will see plenty of power-lifting meets and hopefully plenty of meet records & state records will fall. We are praying that recruiters will be knocking on our doors wanting Big Mick to come to there school. When it’s all said & done my only hope is that he doesn’t have any regrets..

“Let them give thanks to the Lord for his unfailing love and his wonderful deeds for mankind. Let them sacrifice thank offerings and tell of his works with songs of joy.”(Psalm 107:21-22)

My CHALLENGE PRAYER for you… Thank God for the rest & comfort that He gives you…

I hope you all have a Wonderful day…. Blessings & much love..D

Live your life like it’s your LAST 24!!

#last24

Leave a Reply

