Confidence is A Good Thing

Good Morning my friends,

Call to God when you are lacking so that He can fill your void. Go to Him when you are joyful, so that He can share your joy and multiply it many times over. God is ALL you need and He will always be there just when you need it. Your deepest desires can be filled with Him alone. We live in the age of self-help. Bookstores are stacked to the ceiling with books about “taking care of number one,” making oneself the center of all things. The main goal of these methodologies is to become self-sufficient and confident. God calls you to take a “road less traveled”: with continual dependence on Him. He wants you to accomplish great things but He wants you to rely on Him to light your path. True confidence comes from knowing you are complete in His Presence. Everything you need has its counterpart in Him.

“I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.” (John 15:5)

I’ve always had a a ton of confidence that goes above & beyond the norm. When Keri & I first meet she didn’t like me at ALL… She said, “I was arrogant.” I’m the first to admit that there is a very fine line between arrogance & confidence and I’ve probably always been as close to that line as I could get without stepping over it but I think l’ve always fallen on the confident side.
There have been times in my life that my confidence has caused problems.. One of those times was 13 or so years ago. I was working at Greenleaf as a Sales Rep/Asst Manager and one day at lunch we were all talking about confidence and I made the statement that I thought I could run the store better than the current manager. My statement didn’t have anything to do with our store managers lack of ability but more with my ability. A few days later word got back to him that I was talking bad about him behind his back and he approached me about it.. I told him the truth.. My words had nothing to do with him but it had ALL to do with my confidence in me. He couldn’t quite comprehend where I was coming from and I could tell he felt threatened and from that day forward his attitude towards me changed.
As a father, I want my boys to be confident. As a manager, I want my employees to exude confidence. I want them both to believe they’re capable of accomplishing great things. Attitude is a direct reflection of leadership. To be the best you’ve got to believe you’re the best. You’ve got to beat the best. If the President of Greenleaf were to come to me today and ask me if I thought I could do a better job of running/leading the company than him, I would tell him, emphatically YES.. Again it has nothing to do with his lack of leadership or anything else because it has everything to do with with my belief & confidence in myself…
My confidence has soared to all-time high. It’s this way not because of the things I can do, have done or accomplished but because I have a different perspective.. I know I have limitations but I also know that I don’t have to be able to do everything. The attributes that I lack in my personal life, God blessed Keri with and the things that I lack in my professional life, I pray for God to send me the right people to fill those voids. I walk in confidence knowing that God is lighting my path and guiding my steps and will supply me with all my needs….

“Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.” (James 1:4)

My CHALLENGE prayer you…. Walk in complete confidence knowing that with God you’re complete…

I hope you have a great day. Blessings and much love……D

Live your life like it’s your LAST 24….

#last24

Leave a Reply

