Life Never Goes According to Your Plans

Good Sunday Morning my friends,

God wants us to walk peacefully with Him through each day. Don’t wonder how you will cope with all that is expected of you. You must learn to traverse through this day like any other: one step at a time. Instead of mentally rehearsing how you will do this or that, keep your mind on God’s Presence and on taking the next step. The more demanding your day, the more help you can expect from Him.. Those days should be viewed as an opportunity to learn. God designed you to have deep dependence on your Shepherd King. Challenging times in your like are a wake up call for you to amplify your awareness that you need His help. When you don’t know what to do during these difficult times, wait while Him to open the way for you. Trust that God knows what He is doing, and be ready to follow His lead. He will give strength to you and bless you with His Peace.

“The Lord gives strength to his people; the Lord blesses his people with peace.”(Psalm 29:1)


I use to rehearse each day… Every day as I drove to work, I would plan…plan…& plan.. I would always tell myself that I needed to do this and have it done by this time so I can do this next.. After that is done, then I can do this and have it done by this time so I can drive here to do this… I don’t think anything ever worked out according to my plans. I would always get caught up in something. I would get caught on the phone or have to fix a minor catastrophe that presented itself.. Life never went according to my plans. No matter how hard or how detailed I planned it, there were always character building situations that would come up..

“The bolts of your gates will be iron and bronze, and your strength will equal your days.”(Deuteronomy 33:25)

A few years after Keri and I got married, we had accumulated a little debt like most newly weds do. We had actually begun paying off our debt so that we could breathe a little. Then we were hit with a couple minor things. The washer broke & the car needed tires. We handled those minor things with ease but then we were smack with a huge blow.. Keri got laid off… Our income was cut in half which was a substantial blow but it was something we could work through since she had skills. She immediately started looking for a job and went on interview after interview but nothing ever panned out. She was offered a couple of jobs but the pay was substantially lower than what she was making before.. We had 1 baby and 1 toddler and if she took a job making $350 a week, $100-150 would go to childcare, another $65-80 to fuel, $30-50 for lunch… She would be working for darn near NOTHING… Why would I put my kids in childcare just so my wife could contribute $50 per week to our bank account…. That just didn’t make sense.. We just knew that she would eventually find a job that would be worth taking. Bills began to roll in and we were forced to start buying groceries on credit cards. We had a few more minor things happen which we charged and within no time our credit card debt was higher than it was before.

“The Lord replied, “My Presence will go with you, and I will give you rest.” (Exodus 33:14)

Our financial woes began to take its toll on our marriage. We started arguing more and things started to crumple. I felt that she wasn’t doing enough to find a job. She wasn’t doing this.. She wasn’t doing that… As the negative thoughts towards her began to flow, I began to search for more every time I looked at her. That’s how satan works.. He floods our thoughts to look for the negative…

“Now may the God of peace, who through the blood of the eternal covenant brought back from the dead our Lord Jesus, that great Shepherd of the sheep, equip you with everything good for doing his will, and may he work in us what is pleasing to him, through Jesus Christ, to whom be glory for ever and ever. Amen.” (Hebrews 13:20-2)

My CHALLENGE prayer for you…. Look for the positive during the difficult times….

I hope you have a great day… Blessings & much love…..D

Live your life like it’s your LAST 24…

#last24

One thought on “Life Never Goes According to Your Plans

  1. Thank you for the wake-up call as I see it. I am going through some things with my son and I now realize that I am looking for the negative instead of the positive. I am going to start doign that with him and all my children. Good morning my friend and have a blessed day!

Leave a Reply

