Those Footprints Are Not Yours

Good Saturday Morning my friends,

I’ve always loved the poem Footprints. I think we all can attest that if any of us look back over our life there were many times when we saw just that one set of footprints. Do you remember how you felt during those times? Fear, abandonment, confusion, alone, hurt, sadness, anger….etc..etc… These are a far cry from the Fruits of the Spirit that the Bible speaks about in Galatians 5..

“But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law.” (Galatians 5:22-23)


In all likelihood it was during these times that you probably felt furthest away God. Why is that? Why is it that during our most difficult times of our life that we move furthest away from God? Why do we assume that we can do it on our own? Is it stubbornness? Or is it because we just want to do it our way? I always wanted the best of both worlds.. I wanted my cake and eat it too. I wanted the “fun” sinful life of the world because I didn’t want my worldly friends to make fun of me for living the “boring & stuffy” Christian life.. I thought that living this way would set me apart from others. Often we let our worldly friends encourage us to live a life full of sin and sadly we listen.. We never stop and look at the mess that our encouragers life’s are in themselves? Many times they’re in a worse place than we are but yet we let them influence us… I’ve been guilty of all these things and so much more…
We can learn a lot from the poem Footprints? Perhaps the best lesson we could learn is to remember whose footprints the single set belongs to when were are going through our struggles in life. He’s ready to bring you comfort, peace, joy, & happiness during your most weakest moment… We just have you be willing you seek Him.

Jesus said, “So I say to you: Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you.” (Luke 11:9)

God wants us to try and stay conscious of Him as we go through each day. God’s Presence is both a promise and a protection. Jesus’ final statement just before He ascended into heaven was: “Surely I am with you always.” That promise was for all of His followers, without exception. The promise of God’s Presence is a powerful protection because when you journey through life, there will be numerous pitfalls along the way. There will are many things that clamor for your attention, enticing you to go their way. A few steps away from your true path are pits of self-pity and despair, plateaus of pride and self-will. When you take your eyes off God and follow another’s way, you place yourself in grave danger. Even well-meaning friends can lead you astray if you let them take His place in your life. The best way to stay on the path of Life is to keep your focus on God. Being awareness of God’s Presence is your best protection.

“Surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.” (Matthew 28:20)


My friends, all we need to know & remember is that Jesus is ALWAYS there ready & waiting for us.. Look at the encouragers in your life.. Are they encouraging you to live a good life or are they trying to lead you down a different path. Do they need someone to show them the Light? Living a “Christian Life” is far from boring.. It has been the most rewarding 2 1/2 year of my life and it keeps getting better.. I’m not perfect by any means, I’m just trying to let God mold me into the man that He wants me to be.

“Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith. For the joy set before him he endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.”(Hebrews 12:1-2)

My CHALLENGE prayer for YOU.. Turn to God during your next set of single footprints.

I hope you all have an AMAZING day…. Blessings & much love….D

Live you life like it’s your LAST 24

#last24

FOOTPRINTS by Mary Stevens

One night I dreamed I was walking along the beach with the Lord.
Many scenes from my life flashed across the sky.
In each scene I noticed footprints in the sand.
Sometimes there were two sets of footprints,
other times there were one set of footprints.

This bothered me because I noticed
that during the low periods of my life,
when I was suffering from
anguish, sorrow or defeat,
I could see only one set of footprints.

So I said to the Lord,
“You promised me Lord,
that if I followed you,
you would walk with me always.
But I have noticed that during
the most trying periods of my life
there have only been one
set of footprints in the sand.
Why, when I needed you most,
you have not been there for me?”

The Lord replied,
“The times when you have
seen only one set of footprints,
is when I carried you.”

Leave a Reply

