Greatest Fears

Good Thursday Morning my friends,

I have posted on many occasions that my GREATEST fear in life is failure. Don’t get me wrong …I don’t mean to do bad at something a single time. When I say failure I mean to not live up to my own expectations. My expectations for myself is borderline perfection in a sense… I realize perfection is totally impossible and that I’ve already set myself up for failure sort of but it’s different. You see, first you have to understand when I say perfection I don’t mean perfection like the life that Jesus lived. My striving for MY perfection is different.. Maybe perfection isn’t the best word to use but being “THE BEST or “# 1″ or at ” THE TOP” isn’t good enough. My striving for perfection means that I’m ALWAYS trying to increase or do better.. Take for instance my love for my AMAZING BEAUTIFUL wife. Everyday I hold Keri’s hand while driving down the road, I kiss her spontaneously, run my fingers through her hair, we cuddled, etc…etc… I know she feels my love that I have for her then but TODAY I WANT to kick it up a notch. My desire is for her to feel my love even more today than yesterday and the next and so on.. For the most part I approach life this way with ALL things and have done so for most of my life.

Is this the correct way to approach life?

Probably not because I have to admit in the past when I mess up I usually mess up pretty HUGE. In the past its been a roller coaster of moods swings. One minute I could be up and the next down. But its a lot different now. The lows only go down to the previous high. I don’t take it down to rock bottom and start over. I have a stone set in place where I had my last victory that I cling to. That stone is called my Ebenezer stone.

In 1 Samuel 7, you will find that the Israelites decided once again to turn back to The Lord.. Samuel said to all the Israelites, “If you are returning to the Lord with all your hearts, then rid yourselves of the foreign gods and the Ashtoreths and commit yourselves to the Lord and serve him only, and he will deliver you out of the hand of the Philistines.” The Israelites put away their Baals and Ashtoreths, and served the Lord only. Samuel said, “Assemble all Israel at Mizpah, and I will intercede with the Lord for you.” When they had assembled at Mizpah, they drew water and poured it out before the Lord. On that day they fasted and there they confessed, “We have sinned against the Lord.” Now Samuel was serving as leader of Israel at Mizpah. When the Philistines heard that Israel had assembled at Mizpah, the rulers of the Philistines came up to attack them. When the Israelites heard of it, they were afraid because of the Philistines. They said to Samuel, Do not stop crying out to the Lord our God for us, that he may rescue us from the hand of the Philistines.” Then Samuel took a suckling lamb and sacrificed it as a whole burnt offering to the Lord. He cried out to the Lord on Israel’s behalf, and the Lord answered him. While Samuel was sacrificing the burnt offering, the Philistines drew near to engage Israel in battle. But that day the Lord thundered with loud thunder against the Philistines and threw them into such a panic that they were routed before the Israelites. The men of Israel rushed out of Mizpah and pursued the Philistines, slaughtering them along the way to a point below Beth Kar. (1 Samuel 7:3-11). Then Samuel took a stone and set it up between Mizpah and Shen. He named it Ebenezer, saying, “Thus far the Lord has helped us.” (1 Samuel 7:12).

My Ebenezer stone is always set at my previous high….

Living your life for God is not the most popular thing to do in today’s society.. Your life is continually under a microscope and don’t think that your friends aren’t switching because they are and the first time they feel that you’re not doing something that they feel is unbiblical they will say something to you..

“Who will bring any charge against those whom God has chosen? It is God who justifies. Who then is the one who condemns? No one. Christ Jesus who died—more than that, who was raised to life—is at the right hand of God and is also interceding for us.” (Romans 8:33-34)

Don’t let this discourage you. God doesn’t want you to be discouraged by the difficulty of keeping your focus on Him. He knows that your hearts desire is to be aware of His Presence continually. He realizes that it’s a lofty goal and that despite you being aimed toward Him that you will probably never fully achieve it in this life. But He doesn’t want you to stop or quit.. He wants you to get back up and keep trying.. He doesn’t want you to let the feelings of failure weigh you down. Instead He wants you to see yourself as He sees you. He is delighted by your deep desire to walk closely with Him through your life. He is pleased each time you initiate communication with Him. He notices the progress you have made since you first resolved to live in His Presence. When you realize that your mind has wandered away from Him, don’t be alarmed or surprised because He knows we live in a world that has is rigged to distract us. Each time you plow your way through the massive distractions to communicate with Him, you achieve a victory. Rejoice in these tiny triumphs, and they will increasingly light up your days.

“Therefore, since we have a great high priest who has ascended into heaven, Jesus the Son of God, let us hold firmly to the faith we profess. For we do not have a high priest who is unable to empathize with our weaknesses, but we have one who has been tempted in every way, just as we are—yet he did not sin. Let us then approach God’s throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need.” (Hebrews 4:14-16)

My CHALLENGE prayer for YOU.. Set your Ebenezer stone in place and don’t let life take you past it..

I hope you have a TERRIFIC day…. Blessings & much love….D

Live today like it’s your LAST 24!!!

#last24

Leave a Reply

