Listening & Hearing Are Definitely Different

Good Wednesday Morning my friends,

I’m sure everyone has heard the say, “God gave you 2 ears & 1 mouth, so you can hear twice as much as you say.” I have to be totally honest, I have no problem hearing but listening on the other hand ….I’m a total failure.. Listening requires total concentration to ONLY the words coming out of someone’s mouth. I hate the fact that I know I need to learn to listen but can’t seem to conquer it.. Keri often tells me that when she speaks that ALL I hear is Dolphin speak. I’m not so sure it’s that bad but the irony is that I hear her when she says this… When Keri tries to share with me what’s on her heart, a lot of the time I don’t hear a word she’s saying because I’m too busy thinking about how to respond or how I’m going fix her it.. When I do this, it means that I’ve totally missed what she’s saying. I’m SLOWLY learning that she doesn’t need me to fix anything, but instead she just needs me to LISTEN.

“To answer before listening— that is folly and shame.” (Proverbs 18:13)


God wants us to listen to Him even while we’re listening to other people. When friends chose you to open their souls to, this places us on holy ground. We need the help of the Holy Spirit to respond appropriately. We should first ask God to think through us, to live through us & to love through us. God is alive within us in the Holy Spirit. If He responds to someone else’s needs through our unaided thought process then we offer them nothing but dry crumbs. When we are empowered by the Spirit to listen and to speak, God’s streams of living water will flow through us to them. God wants us to be a channel of His Love, Joy and Peace by listening to Him as we listen to others.

“Do not come any closer,” God said. “Take off your sandals, for the place where you are standing is holy ground.” (Exodus 3:5)


Over the couple of years several friends have private messaged me for advice about their marriage. Let met first say that I appreciate everyone having confidence in me that I can even help. I’ve made a lot of mistakes in my almost 23 yrs of marriage and I have learned from them all but one of the things that I’ve learned is that when I’m asked by someone of the opposite sex for advice is to STOP with the first question. Biblically it’s wrong to talk about emotional things with someone of the opposite sex. Although the intentions are good and harmless at first, it has the potential to lead to more problems. I refer all question from females to Keri. There’s NOTHING that Keri can’t answer that I could. In fact she’s probably experienced every thought you’re having.. If she needs my input from a man’s perspective then she will not hesitate to ask.. Even if it’s something simple like what a a husband could be possibly thinking in a situation, she will ask me without going into details of whom she’s ministering too. I don’t ask questions.. It’s doesn’t matter who or what’s going on…

Jesus said, “My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me. ” Do you know His voice?” (John 10:27)


What matters is that the advice that’s given is biblical and that their struggles/ problems are in complete confidence and not shared with ANYONE else. Keri & l have been down the other road. We received non-biblical advice given our “Christian” friends. Things were told in confidence spread like a wild fire because they didn’t keep it confidential. We were judged and looked down upon by the same Christian friends for our struggle in our marriage. We want to be different.. We seek God for guidance.. We use our struggles as a positive, to guide others during their crisis. We pray together continuously for those couples.

“Whoever believes in me, as Scripture has said, rivers of living water will flow from within them. By this he meant the Spirit, whom those who believed in him were later to receive. Up to that time the Spirit had not been given, since Jesus had not yet been glorified.”
(John 7:38-39)

My CHALLENGE PRAYER for YOU.. Don’t just hear…..LISTEN….

I hope you have an wonderful day….. Blessings & much love…..D

Live today like it’s your LAST 24!!!

#last24

Leave a Reply

