Youth is Wasted on the Young

Good Thursday Morning my friends,

 

About 25 years ago I was told by someone whom was much older than myself, “that youth is wasted on the young.” When I first heard that I remember thinking, “shut up you old fart.” I took that as if he was slamming me personally.. He was lucky that I didn’t smack him up side his old gray-haired head. The lessons we learn in life have a way of making us realize how dumb you were when we were young and at other phases in our life.. Now that I’m 45, I understand exactly what the older gentlemen was saying. He wasn’t slamming me. He was saying that when we are young we have strength and stamina but we were are older that we have knowledge, wisdom & insight.. Imagine how productive we could be if we had the strength and stamina in our older years..

“The glory of young men is their strength, gray hair the splendor of the old.” (Proverbs 20:29)

There’s no telling how many lessons that life would’ve taught me had I just been willing to listen. Instead I refused. I took criticism personally.. I got mad.. I got my feelings hurt.. I pouted and stayed mad for days.. I didn’t want my weaknesses to be revealed. Heck I was like everyone else. I wanted to think that I already knew them but in reality then only thing I knew about them were that those were the things that were going to take the most work. I finally learned that the difference between being average and being my best was my willingness to work on my weaknesses. My weaknesses had to become my strengths before I could ever have the opportunity to reach my fullest potential. I had to first focus on my weaknesses.

“Gray hair is a crown of splendor; it is attained in the way of righteousness.” (Proverbs 16:31)

Life has always had a way of teaching me things when I needed it the most.. The right people crossed my path, the right conversations occurred, the right critics were placed and I faced the right valleys.. As I look back I can see that it was God’s perfect timing… He was directing my life as if he was in front of a symphony directing an orchestra.. I love the wisdom and insight that I have been blessed with over the years.. It is my goal to continue to grow and reach new levels of insight.. My hair could not get anymore gray so I guess God decided for me to go white and then to start removing..

“Listen to advice and accept instruction, that you may gain wisdom in the future. Many are the plans in the mind of a man, but it is the purpose of the Lord that will stand.” (Proverbs 19:20-21)

“And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.” (2 Corinthians 12:9)

 

My CHALLENGE PRAYER for you… Work on your weaknesses so that you may reach your fullest potential..

I hope you all have a WONDERFUL day.. Blessings & much love….D

Live your life like it’s your LAST 24!!!!

#last24

One thought on “Youth is Wasted on the Young

  1. Well said Dino…That was said to me when I was younger.I say to my children I wish I knew what I know now when I was their age.I’m sure our children have more biblical knowledge then we did…Thank you for your blog…I’m getting on track!

Leave a Reply

