The Joys of Being A Parent

Good Wednesday Morning my friends,

I love being a dad.. It’s everything that I thought it was going to be and then some. The joy that my boys bring to my life every day far outweighs the difficult and frustrating days that they give me from time to time. I say that with a smile because they ALWAYS go to their nurturer for their soft place to fall and there’s nothing wrong with that. They know that Keri will listen to them and that I’m going to lay down the facts… Sometimes they just frustrate me and when they do most of time they dog-pile me on the same day.. They have their days when they can be relentless with negativity and unwilling to listen to anything with reason once they get something in their mind.

“Behold, children are a heritage from the Lord, the fruit of the womb a reward. Like arrows in the hand of a warrior are the children of one’s youth. Blessed is the man who fills his quiver with them! He shall not be put to shame when he speaks with his enemies in the gate.”(Psalm 127:3-5)


Those days are few and far In between but on those days I do my best to use those moments to teach them how to deal with “problems”, “situations”, “disappoints” & “set backs”.. I put quotations around those words because teenagers barely brush the surface of true problems. When I think about teenager troubles/problems, I usually think to myself, “you haven’t seen anything YET…” I do my best to take myself back 25-30 years and determine how I would teach myself those lessons and be receptive.. A lot of the times it doesn’t start out positive.. They usually don’t want to hear what I have to say but after not speaking to me for a day or two they done to the realization that my advice is out of love..

“And, ye fathers, provoke not your children to wrath: but bring them up in the nurture and admonition of the Lord.”(Ephesians 6:4)


I don’t claim to have all the answers for their life but I do know that I don’t want them to go through the same struggles that I went through as an adult.. If I could get them to clear their minds and just listen & think about what I’m saying, they will find that their dear old dad isn’t trying to be the bad guy. They will see that I’m not trying to make their decisions for them or that I’m not trying to live their life for them or live MY life through them.. I want them to make their own decisions and for them to be the right decisions. I want their life to be easier from 30-60 not from 18-23. I want them to understand that the decisions they make from 18-23 will impact their life forever.. As parents Keri & I want them to trust that they can use our hindsight as their foresight so that they can make the correct choice in life…

“Train up a child in the way he should go; even when he is old he will not depart from it.” (Proverbs 22:6)

My CHALLENGE PRAYER for YOU…. Pass your wisdom to your child in a loving way…

I hope you all have a WONDERFUL day.. Blessings & much love….D

Live your life like it’s your LAST 24!!!!

#last24

Leave a Reply

