Talents & Dreams are a Blessing that takes an Effort to Achieve

Good Monday Morning my friends,

I love talking to my boys and teaching them about the things that I’ve learned in my life. I especially love trying to teach them about motivation or about goal setting and achieving those goals and then living their dreams..

”May he give you the desire of your heart and make all your plans succeed.”
(Psalm 20:4)

Last night as Big Mick and I were driving home from church we began to talk about goals and the process it takes to achieve them. I explained to him that God blesses everyone with talents to achieve the dreams that He places in our mind. I further explained that it’s up to us to make the right decisions and put in the work to achieve our goals.

“But as for you, be strong and do not give up, for your work will be rewarded.” 2 Chronicles 15:7

Most people know that Mick’s dreams are to play D1 football and then go on to play in the NFL. God has blessed him with the size and strength to play at the next level but just because he’s been blessed with those things doesn’t mean that he doesn’t have to make the right decisions and put in the work to achieve his dreams. God has done his part.. Now he has to do his.. To play any kind of ball at the next level it takes more than the effort one puts forth during athletics or the recommended workouts before or after school. All the athletes that play at the next level have had to put in work to achieve their dreams. They’re not just offered scholarships because they’re good. It just doesn’t happen. God blesses a lot of boys with speed, size, strength and athletic ability but most of those boys will never achieve their dreams because they aren’t willing to put forth the effort that it takes to get there. We go to church with Johnathan Gray(at least when he’s home from UT). Unless you’ve been living under a rock, don’t know anything about a Texas High School football or UT football you should know the name. God blessed Johnathan with all of the attributes to play football at the next level but he had to put forth the effort to achieve his dreams. You can ask anyone that knows him or has been around him and they will all tell you that NO ONE worked harder than him.. He was constantly working towards achieving his goals and dreams..

20140324-082933.jpg
I explained to Mick that the sacrifices that he makes today while he’s in high school is a small price to pay for the opportunity to achieve his dreams of playing D1 football a couple of years from now. Almost 25 years ago I was pursuing my dreams of becoming a corporate lawyer. God blessed me with the intelligence and sharp mind to be successful, however I chose to not make the right decisions and sacrifices that I needed to achieve my dreams. I could’ve easily worked during the day, went to school at night and sacrificed my time with Keri to achieve my dreams however I chose to quit going to school. My time spent with Keri would’ve been a small sacrifice to pay to achieve something that would’ve changed our financial lives forever.

To achieve your goals and dreams you must constantly ask yourself, “if what your doing right now is helping you get to where you want to go?” It doesn’t matter what it is or when it is.. When you wake up in the morning it starts with your attitude.. With every decision you make from the time you wake up until the time you go to bed you must ask yourself that question.. If it doesn’t line up with your goals and dreams then you have to adjust your decisions to match your dreams. God wants you to achieve your dreams… He wants you to use your talents so that you can live an abundant life so you then can give Him the honor & glory for it.

Psalm 33:11 ”But the plans of the Lord stand firm forever, the purposes of his heart through all generations.”

Psalm 37:4-5 “Take delight in the Lord, and he will give you the desires of your heart.

My CHALLENGE PRAYER for YOU… Chase your dreams with everything you’ve got and give God the glory.

I hope you all have a GREAT day.. Blessings & much love….D

Live your life like it’s your LAST 24..

Last24#

>

Leave a Reply

