Thoughtfulness Starts with Your Attitude

Good Sunday Afternoon my friends,

I wanted to write about this a month ago but I decided not to because I didn’t want to allow my emotions to determine my words.. I nearly wrote it again on Wednesday night but again I didn’t want my emotions to determine my words.. So I waited again.. This subject has been on my heart.. So here goes..
I try to not let people in this world get to me but so far in 2014 the people are winning. There are a few things that infuriate me to no end when it comes to people. Thoughtless people blow my mind.. Keri & I had three college students (girls) move-in above us over the Christmas holidays. They come home at all hours of the night and are so loud.. Whether it’s them stomping around, slamming their doors, or fighting & yelling with each other they have no respect for the families that live around them. The parking arrangements are not assigned but one would think that common sense would prevail but I guess when you’re thoughtless you have no common sense.. When we have visitors, we tell them that they will need to park on the street but yet I guess the girls upstairs believe it’s first come, first serve… It doesn’t matter that their friends don’t pay rent, they must believe that their rent pays for them & their friends to take up the entire parking lot.. Everyone knows that I don’t have girls but I try to put myself in the place as if these were my girls.. How I would want the man that lives below them to be.. I have taken their trash to the street and brought it back for the past three months but yet not a thank you or nothing…. I don’t expect or want accolades for being kind but a little courtesy or gratitude would be nice.. When you see me & my wife you definitely shouldn’t look at down at us as if you think you’re better.. You should at least speak when you’re spoken to or smile when you’re smiled.. Say thank you for to the person that takes your overflowing trash can to the street & brings it back as well.. All three of you come & go all day long.. Heck bring both of our empty trash cans up for a change instead of just yours…

“Humble yourselves before the Lord, and he will lift you up. “(James 4:10)

In the last 45 days or so I’ve had three employees walkout/quit without giving a two notice. One quit because she didn’t like being told (by another employee) that she needed to clean the microwave that she used everyday multiple times a day. She didn’t have enough decency to tell me or Keri she was quitting. Her father quit the next morning because he didn’t like me telling him that his daughter was thoughtless.. I guess daughter was like father.. The thing that bothers me the most about this family (which I should have seen it coming) was that when their house burned a few years back and they lost everything, it was me that got a good majority of their things replaced with donations and countless cards with cash donations from my friends & colleagues but yet not one thank you note was sent to those people that sent the card with cash.. The third employee walked out on Wednesday morning.. This was the same individual that came to me a month ago asking for overtime because he was struggling financially but yet 10 days later when I gave him an opportunity to work for a vendor and earn some extra cash he turned it down because he wasn’t going to be able to start right after he got off. He turned down a chance to earn $60.00 doing about 20 minutes worth of work over a span of 90 minutes.. That’s $40.00 per hour.. He quit because he didn’t want to take a of couple of extra stops on his route which would’ve given him overtime. He wanted me to give him overtime but he didn’t want to earn it. Keri & I helped these same three individuals out financially on numerous occasions but yet they returned their gratitude by walking out without a notice and acting like an irresponsible kid instead of a responsible adult..

“Thoughtless people inherit folly, but the cautious are crowned with knowledge.” (Proverbs 14:18)

20140323-145250.jpg
I was raised to be appreciative and to show a little gratitude for the things that people do for you.. I was taught that a simple thank you and a smile goes a long way.. I wrote earlier this week that I do things for others because God has blessed me. I don’t expect or want anything in return nor do I want an “atta boy” or a pat on the back… I tell you these things because it’s not right to just take…take…&…take. We are called to love our neighbors as we love ourselves… Show your love for your neighbor that helps you out with a little thankfulness. Never let your emotions towards someone else allow you to burn a bridge that you may need to cross later on in life…

Jesus said, “Love your neighbor as yourself.” (Matthew 22:39)

My CHALLENGE PRAYER for YOU… Be thankful for all things….

I hope you all have a GREAT day.. Blessings & much love….D

Live your life like it’s your LAST 24!!!!

#last24
>

Leave a Reply

